Research Guides: AS 101: A Guide to the Libraries : Research Resources

Scout: UA's Academic Search Engine

Scout
Use Scout to find all types of sources: print books, eBooks, peer-reviewed journal articles, magazine articles, streaming video, etc.

These two short tutorials will walk you through how to use Scout. Just contact me if you have any more questions.

Databases

We have all sorts of databases - everything from databases full of academic journal articles (JSTOR, Science Direct, etc.) to databases that contain movies and streaming video (Kanopy, Swank Motion Pictures, etc.). Here's a short tutorial that will show you how to find databases (and below that you'll find a few specific databases that might be useful to you):

Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on social issues. Easy to use and good for some first-year research papers.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Information source for scientific, medical, and technical research, and also includes social science and humanities topics.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Scholarly journal articles from all sorts of fields & disciplines: history, literature, biological sciences, business, political science, etc.
Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service that offers award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new window
Swank Motion Pictures provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics.
For the latest information on system requirements, CLICK HERE.

AS 101: A Guide to the Libraries

Scout: UA's Academic Search Engine

Databases

Get in touch

Hours & information

Socialize with us