What the University Libraries Can Offer You

• With four libraries on-campus, there are many places to visit to study, research, relax, or grab a cup of coffee! Gorgas is home to resources in social sciences and humanities, Bruno is dedicated to Business, and Rodgers is our Science and Engineering Library. Hoole includes our Special Collections. You do not have to be of a certain major to visit or use any of the resources and services of any of the four buildings. You can also visit any of the UA Libraries to meet with a librarian for help. 

• All UA Libraries offer free access to the New York Times academic pass that allows unlimited access to articles for research via our database or via the NYT app! For more information, please visit this link. 

• Gorgas, Bruno, and Rodgers have study spaces. To see what each space has to offer, visit the Spaces by Library page. you can reserve by visiting the Team Workrooms page. There are desktop computers available for you to use at these Libraries as well.

• Gorgas Library has 7 floors! Each floor has a different noise level to help you decide the best place to study.

Sanford Media Center

• Located on the 2nd floor of Gorgas Library, the SMC provides consultations and trainings on using audiovisual equipment
• Computers at UA Libraries also have specialized software for graphic design, engineering, programming, video production, etc.

Whisper Booths

• The UA Libraries can help you create audio projects, such as voiceovers and simple keyboard and acoustic instrumental recordings.
• Two booths are available by reservation. Book a Whisper Booth Now.

• Located within the Culverhouse complex, Bruno Library houses the College’s Sloan Y. Bashinsky Sr. Computer Center. As a 64,000 square foot facility, Bruno offers many resources including numerous workstations and laptops loaded with high-demand software, a real time stock exchange ticker, and Bloomberg Terminals.

• Rodgers is the Science & Engineering Library and is home to the nursing, engineering, and sciences books, e-books, and more. Open 24/5 during exam weeks, Rodgers has many unique resources including a 3D Studio with 3D printing, 3D scanning, training workshops, and do it yourself 3D printing (after training). Similar to the other UA Libraries, there are study spaces and team workrooms you can reserve. 

• Located on the 2nd floor of  Mary Harmon Bryant Hall, The University of Alabama Libraries Special Collections (Hoole) contains thousands of rare and unique materials including digital collections. For more information on Hoole, please visit the UA Special Collections Research Guide.