Books at Gorgas Library
- ScoutUse Scout to find our print books, eBooks, academic journal articles.
- The Libraries CatalogUse the Libraries Catalog to find our print books and eBooks. Similar to Scout, but doesn't contain journal articles, images, etc.
Finding Books on WorldCat
- WorldCat FirstSearch This link opens in a new window
Contains all the records cataloged by OCLC member libraries. Offers millions of bibliographic records. Includes records representing 400 languages.
- Interlibrary LoanUse Interlibrary loan to request any books, journal articles, theses/dissertations, newspapers, or other sources that the university libraries don't have. With print books and some other sources you may have to wait 1-2 weeks for them to be delivered, but electronic copies of things like scholarly journal articles can be accessed in a matter of days!
Scholarly Journal Article Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
- Historical Abstracts with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
- China Academic Journals - Literature/History/Philosophy (Series F) - English This link opens in a new windowA full-text database of Chinese journals. Subscription includes one module: Series F: Literature/History/Philosophy.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- Anthropology Plus This link opens in a new windowAnthropology Plus is a compilation of the Anthropological Index and Anthropological Literature databases. It is a comprehensive index of bibliographic materials covering the fields of anthropology, archaeology, and related interdisciplinary research.
- ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials This link opens in a new window
ATLA Religion Database with ATLASerials is the full text version of the ATLA Religion Database. This database provides a collection of major religious and theology journals selected by religion scholars in the United States.
Bibliographies/Encyclopedias
- Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) This link opens in a new window
The Bibliography of Asian Studies (BAS) is a comprehensive resource for students and scholars interested in East, Southeast, and South Asia, providing citations and full-text of various journal articles and proceedings.
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules for the social sciences and humanities. This database combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, and guides researchers to scholarship produced across a wide variety of subjects.
- Encyclopedia of Chinese History"In A-Z format with entries written by experts in the field of Chinese Studies, the Encyclopedia will be an invaluable resource for students of Chinese history, politics and culture."
Books
Chronicling Westerners in Nineteenth-Century East Asia by ISBN: 9781350238909Publication Date: 2022-05-19This book presents intimate, engaging, and largely untold portraits of Western lives and livelihoods in Japanese and Chinese treaty ports, as well as in the British colonies of Hong Kong, Australia and New Zealand, during the 19th century. It does so by examining how Westerners 'chronicled' their overseas lives in personal letters, diplomatic dispatches, business records, and academic papers. By utilizing these rich but often overlooked sources, Chronicling Westerners in Nineteenth-Century East Asia presents new insights into the pace and challenges of daily life, especially in the Japanese treaty ports of Nagasaki and Yokohama but also in Shanghai and Hong Kong. In the process, the volume stresses the 'connectivities' between its subjects, as Westerners' lives intersected, and as they moved between Japanese and Chinese port cities. Contributors based in the USA, Japan, the UK, New Zealand and Switzerland reveal the various commercial, maritime, and imperial connections, linked in surprising ways to Westerners in East Asia portrayed here, which shaped colonial development in Australia and New Zealand. Through a broad investigation of Westerners recording their lives, the book re-examines wider histories of the so-called 'openings' of China and Japan in the 1850s and 1860s, as well as how Westerners sought to make sense of these events, and to narrate their place within them. Finally the volume considers how flows of people, capital, commerce, and communications not only cut across the histories of distinct treaty ports in Japan and China, but also shows their implications for empire and exchange beyond East Asia, including Australia, New Zealand, and the 19th-century maritime world.
