Your Librarian
Finding Articles
As graduate students, you will be expected to locate and access journal articles for your coursework, research, and scholarly development. UA Libraries has numerous resources you may utilize to find these articles including Scout, Library Catalog, and multiple databases. Watch the Refining Your Search video below, then see the example database searches.
Databases
It's important to remember that HOW and WHERE you search greatly affect your search results. Each database contains specific types of information focused on specific subject specialties. Before selecting a database, read the its synopsis to determine if its content will serve your research needs. If you are unable to find what you need, try modifying your search terms or navigating to a different database. For further assistance, contact a librarian through Ask a Librarian or email.
Sample ERIC ProQuest search: "student motivation" AND pbis
Sample Professional Development Collection search: student motivation AND pbis
Below you will find some popular databases that focus on research within the field of education.
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology.
- Child Development & Adolescent Studies This link opens in a new window
Indexes and abstracts materials on the growth and development of children through age 21, including journals, technical reports, books, book chapters, theses, and dissertations covering the biomedical and social sciences worldwide.
- Education Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
The comprehensive full-text research database is designed for education students, professionals, and policymakers, covering all levels of education and specialties like multilingual education, health education, and testing.
- ERIC EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
- ERIC ProQuest This link opens in a new windowERIC ProQuest Uses the ProQuest search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference is a comprehensive collection of journals and periodicals covering various educational levels, specialties, administration, funding, and policy issues.
E-Journals
Academic journals provide researchers a more concentrated collection of scholarly articles. When you have a specific topic that you are researching, it can be helpful to find journals that publish works that address a particular focus area in which you are investigating.
- American Educational Research JournalFeatures articles that advance the empirical, theoretical, and methodological understanding of education and learning. It publishes original peer-reviewed analyses that span the field of education research across all subfields and disciplines and all levels of analysis.
- American Journal of Educational StudiesPresents original theory, conceptual development, and empirical quantitative and qualitative research in all areas related to technical, vocational and academic education.
- Educational Management Administration & LeadershipPresents research and analysis on all aspects of leadership, management, administration and policy in education.
- Education JournalCovers education & children's services policy, management & leadership issues.
- International Journal of Leadership in EducationStrives to extend the dialogue from traditional educational administration to the themes of professional supervision, development & leadership.
- Journal of Interdisciplinary Teacher LeadershipThe primary audience for the journal is educators, administrators, and researchers both formal and informal of all disciplines but with a primary focus on the interdisciplinary nature of STEM. Topics will include scholarly articles on proven teaching strategies, community engagement, advocacy, leadership, professional development, research/industry experiences, literary reviews and educational research as they relate to interdisciplinary education.
- Teachers College RecordPublishes research, analysis, and commentary in the field of education.