Databases
The sources listed below contain both scholarly and popular materials. Visit the Libraries' database page to find additional resources by subject or type, browse by alphabet, or view the general purpose databases.
- Gale Academic OneFile This link opens in a new window
Academic OneFile is a source for peer-reviewed, full text articles from leading journals and reference sources. Topics covered include the physical sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, the arts, theology, literature and more.
- Gale In Context: Opposing Viewpoints This link opens in a new window
Access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on social issues.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Google ScholarSearch for scholarly literature across disciplines and sources. Google Scholar is not a library database; when searching online, be sure to carefully evaluate the results.
Find Journal, Magazine, & Newspaper Articles
The Libraries have journals, magazines, and newspapers in print, microform, and electronic formats. There are lots of different ways to access these materials, but here are some suggestions.
- If you're just getting started or if you're looking for new resources:
- Use Scout to search for your topic, then use the limiters on the left side of the page to narrow your results.
- If you are looking for a particular journal, newspaper, or magazine:
- Check to see if we have it in electronic format by using the Publication Finder.
- If we don't, or if you want to see all the formats in which it is available, use Scout to search for the title. This usually works best when you place the title in quotation marks: "Journal of International Affairs".
- If you are looking for a specific article:
- Use Scout or Google Scholar to search for the article title (in quotation marks works best: "Voter Participation and Strategic Uncertainty").
- Use the E-Journals search or Scout to search for the publication in which it appeared then search by title, author, date, volume, number, etc.
You can also go directly to the Libraries' 600+ databases for online access to articles and other content.
Newspapers
You can also go directly to newspaper databases for online access to articles and other content. If you're looking for more, go to the databases page and select Newspapers from the list of item types.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
- Google NewsFind information from worldwide news sources and historical archives dating back over 200 years. Access historical archives directly via the Google News Archive Search. Google News is not a library database; when searching online, be sure to carefully evaluate the results.