It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Theatre and Dance Resources: Video and Multimedia
This subject guide is designed to help you find resources for the study of theatre and dance.
Scout is a powerful search tool that can be used to find both print and electronic resources. Scout simultaneously searches the libraries' catalog, databases, electronic collections, streaming media, and much more.
Digital Theatre Plus offers a range of recent British productions in theatre, music and dance. It includes leading theatrical productions from The Old Vic, the Royal Shakespeare Company, and the Royal Court Theatre, as well as opera and dance productions by Glyndebourne and the English National Ballet, and concerts by the London Symphony Orchestra. The site also offers films of rehearsals, and discussions and interviews about the process of creating a production.
Dance in Video is a video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos.
Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from established educational media distributors. Videos cover a wide range of academic subjects, and users can create their own unique custom segments. The interface also allows searching by title, by keywords in segments, browsing titles alphabetically, and browsing or searching within the subject areas, capturing citations, and many titles offer closed-captioning and searchable transcripts.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. NOTE: Kanopy HBO titles require High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP). Please ensure you are using a device and monitor that support HDCP.
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
Swank Motion Pictures provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented by Swank’s services include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, and more.
For the latest information on system requirements, CLICK HERE.
Comprehensive collection of classical music available for streaming online; also includes selections from historical recordings, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music. Contains the entire Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs as well as recordings from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, BIS (Sweden), and Analekta. Updated monthly.
Unlimited simultaneous users. The Naxos Music Library streams exclusively with Adobe Flash Player. If Adobe Flash Player 10 is not installed on your computer, please take a moment and install: http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/.
Naxos Music Library Jazz features a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings are from various artists and labels, including Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy, and others. New albums are added weekly.
Access to length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met’s Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date. Every opera includes an English synopsis, with synopses in multiple languages available for many more.
The Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall makes available live video of concerts by this great orchestra. The site also offers on-demand streaming of both recent and archived concerts by the Berlin Philharmonic, as well as educational films about important musicians and musical works.