Research Guides: Accounting Resources for Doctoral Research: Data Sources

Accounting and auditing

Accounting Research Manager This link opens in a new window
This database contains a wide variety of accounting standards from numerous sources. Search by topic or by standard. Learn more by viewing the tab on this database located in the Accounting library guide at http://guides.lib.ua.edu/accounting/arm.
The Accounting, SEC, and Auditing sections are limited to 3 simultaneous users. The Government section is limited to 3 simultaneous user. The FASB Section is limited to 2 simultaneous users.
Audit Analytics This link opens in a new window
Use this database to search and analyze auditor statements or track who audits whom. You can access the database directly through this link or within WRDS.
Access restricted to students, faculty, and staff of The University of Alabama. Individual account required.
To create an Audit Analytics account, visit the Academic User Registration Page.

CCH / VitalLaw This link opens in a new window
The CCH tax component within the CCH Intelliconnect platform includes the text of the familiar Standard Federal Tax Reporter along with an extensive collection of primary materials. Information on state taxes and international tax treaties are also available.
Checkpoint Edge This link opens in a new window
The RIA tax service also contains an extensive collection of primary sources and editorial materials for both state and federal taxation.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Search for your company, then use the many tabs in the company entry to explore financial statements, debt information, ratios, and more. All tables can be downloaded to Excel. This database includes a section for searching SEC filings.

Other databases from Mergent might also be interesting: Mergent BondViewer for information on all types of bonds, Mergent First Research for analyst reports, etc.
D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
This database can be used to gather financial information on companies and industries, including ratios. A small collection of analyst reports is also available.
Bloomberg Information Service This link opens in a new window
Bloomberg terminals located in the Bruno Library and Bashinsky Computer Center provide access to the same data used by brokerage firms and investment banks. Open Excel on the desktop and use the wizard at the top to extract data from Bloomberg into a spreadsheet.
Available only at designated computers in Bruno Library.

WRDS
WRDS is a platform for a collection of datasets from various providers. Some popular datasets available through our subscription are Standard & Poor's Compustat (data extracted from financial statements), Execucomp (executive compensation), and CRSP (stock prices). Create an account to access the service, then use the web interface, the command-line access or your favorite desktop statistical package to collect your data. Ph.D. accounts must be renewed from time to time, but an email request to your WRDS representative (Karen Chapman, kchapman@bruno.cba.ua.edu) is usually sufficient.
EDGAR
Get the data from the source by searching the SEC's database of corporate filings.

Factiva.com This link opens in a new window
This database covers thousands of news publications and is produced by the same company that owns Dow Jones and the Wall Street Journal. To find press releases and news releases for a company, set the Source category to "Wires" before doing your search.