Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Books on Writers & Writing
For books on writers & writing, search these subject headings in the Libraries' Classic Catalog:
- Creative Writing
- Prose Literature--Authorship
To find criticism in academic journals, use these databases:
- MLA International Bibliography
The premier database for literary criticism & theory. To improve your search skills, see these tutorials, produced by MLA:
A collection of scholarly journals with searchable full text.
- Project MUSE
High quality journals from major university presses.
To find criticism in books, search author or title, plus the keyword "criticism" in these library catalogs:
- Scout simultaneously searches the Libraries' catalog, 90+ databases, and some free Internet resources (includes scholarly articles).
- The Libraries' Catalog is a traditional catalog of library holdings: print and electronic books, films, sound recordings, musical scores, government documents, and more (no articles).
- WorldCat is a comprehensive catalog of books and other library materials in more than 9,000 locations worldwide.
Search by author or title and limit to "Reviews" in the "Source Type" menu.
- Book Review Index
Reviews of books, periodicals, books on tape, and electronic media.
- Book Review Digest Plus
Reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books from 1983 to the present.
- Book Review Digest Retrospective
Reviews of English-language fiction and nonfiction books from 1905 to 1982.
Includes reviews (unlike MLA)
- Rain Taxi
"reviews of new fiction, poetry, nonfiction, comics, art, drama, children's and YA books, as well as interviews with authors, essays, and more.
- Small Press Distribution (SPD)
News & reviews relating to 450+ independent presses.