Articles
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate gives access to full-text business journals, covering current trends, historical data, and global perspectives from 1886 to present. It includes essential journals like Harvard Business Review and Forbes.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
- EconLit This link opens in a new windowCitations and abstracts of economic literature. Covers a large number of journals, as well as working papers, dissertations, books, proceedings, and more. Abstracts are provided for about half of the recent entries.
- National Bureau of Economic Research Publications This link opens in a new window
Key focus areas of the NBER include developing new statistical measurements, estimating quantitative models of economic behavior, and analyzing the effects of public policies.
- Economist Historical Archive, The (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
The Economist Historical Archive delivers a complete searchable copy of every issue of The Economist from 1843 to 2014. Covering the 19th and 20th centuries, it includes full-color images, multiple search indexes, and the ability to browse every issue.
- Social Sciences Citation Index This link opens in a new window
The Social Sciences Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database, with searchable author abstracts,covering the journal literature of the social sciences. It indexes journals spanning 50 disciplines, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from the world's leading scientific and technical journals. Coverage: 1900-present.
Scout - Journals and Journal articles
First check the UA Library catalog:
- Scout
- Search by "Journal Title"
- The catalog record will indicate whether UA currently subscribes to the journal in print and electronically. It also may have a direct link to electronic access of the journal.
Electronic access to journal articles
- As mentioned above, the library catalog record may provide a link for electronic access to the journal.
- Use the E-journals link on the Bruno homepage to determine if full text electronic access is available.
- Articles not available in print or electronically may be requested from ILL. (See below for ILL information.) If not many libraries subscribe to the journal, it may be difficult to obtain.
Databases with scholarly business content
- EconLit This link opens in a new window
- Dissertations and Theses at University of Alabama This link opens in a new window
This database is a companion to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, featuring current research from the University of Alabama with citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses. Full text can be downloaded by authorized University of Alabama users.
- Business Source Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Business Source Ultimate gives access to full-text business journals, covering current trends, historical data, and global perspectives from 1886 to present. It includes essential journals like Harvard Business Review and Forbes.
SSRN
- SSRNSocial Science Research Network. C&BA subscribes. Not on library databases page.
Other Economics-related databases
- UN Comtrade This link opens in a new window
This database offers annual trade statistics from over 140 countries, detailed by commodities and trading partner countries, and reported to the United Nations Statistical Division.
- Statistical Insight This link opens in a new window
Provides access to statistical information produced by U.S. federal agencies, states, private organizations, and major intergovernmental organizations. Offers perspectives and insight on national trends and implications combined with filtering capability. Whether tables, statistical reports, publication abstracts, or datasets, results are ranked by relevance.
- EIU Viewpoint This link opens in a new window
EIU Country & Business Intelligence offers current business information worldwide, including regional newsletters covering business activity, economic conditions, and political risk.
