Skip to main content

International Students - Library Resources: Foreign-Language Resources

Welcome - Bienvenido - स्वागत - Willkommen - 환영 - Bienvenue - 歡迎 - Benvenuto - おいでやす

Dictionaries

Foreign-Language Dictionaries

To find bilingual dictionaries in the Libraries' collection - for example, a Spanish-Engish dictionary - search the following phrase as a Subject Heading in the Libraries' catalog:

  • Spanish Language - Dictionaries - English

In addition, many language dictionaries are available online:

  • YourDictionary - includes dictionaries for more than 280 languages, plus links to online newspapers, radio stations, language resources, and print fonts.
     
  • Merriam-Webster Online Dictionary - includes an audio pronunciation guide. Just type in a word and listen to the pronunciation.

Books & Films

Foreign-Language Books: 

The Libraries collect books in many different languages. To find books in a particular language, search the Libraries' catalog as follows:

  • Starting from the Libraries home page, click on Classic Catalog in the Resources box; then select Advanced Search.

  • Click on Set Limits in the bottom-right corner of the search box.

  • In the first box, select a language; then click on Set Limits.

  • Now search the catalog by author, title, subject, keyword, etc. The search will deliver only titles in the selected language.

Foreign-Language Films:

  • Set limits, as instructed in the Foreign-Language Books section above.

  • In the search box, enter DVD? to find films in the selected language.

Newspapers & Periodicals

Foreign-Language Newspapers & Periodicals

Access the following databases with international content through the Libraries' databases page.

  • Ethnic NewsWatch - Full-text coverage of ethnic, minority, and native American presses.
     
  • Lexis-Nexis Academic - Full-text access to U.S. and international newspapers, TV and radio news transcripts.
     
  • Informe - Full-text coverage of articles relating to Hispanic culture; mostly Spanish, some English.

Many international newspapers are also available on the web: