Introduction: Library Databases for Music and Interdisciplinary Research
This page contains information about the major databases for music literature, as well as other interdisciplinary and subject-specific databases that may be useful for your research. For more database options, please see the instructions provided in this guide for using the libraries' A-Z Databases tool.
Music Databases
- RILM Abstracts of Music Literature This link opens in a new window
RILM (Repertoire International de Litterature Musicale) Abstracts provides citations and abstracts of articles in music periodicals, conference proceedings, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, and iconographies. Thousands of journals in hundreds of languages are indexed.
- Music Index This link opens in a new window
Published since 1949, The Music Index: A Subject-Author Guide to Music Periodical Literature indexes international periodicals about music. A broad range of subjects is covered including: composers and performers, the history of music, forms and types of music, and music instruments. Book reviews, music reviews, and reviews of performances are indexed, and first performances and obituaries are noted. This online version provides coverage from 1979.
- Music Periodicals Database This link opens in a new window
This database provides indexing and abstracts for international music periodicals from multiple countries, plus some full text. The majority of the included records are from the most recent ten years of publication. Covers the full spectrum of subjects and all aspects of music, including music education, performance, ethnomusicology, musical theatre, theory, popular music forms and composition.
More Databases
- Arts & Humanities Citation Index This link opens in a new window
- America: History & Life with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Provides historical and cultural coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from journals published worldwide.
Scout
- ScoutScout is a powerful search tool that can be used to find both print and electronic resources. Scout simultaneously searches the libraries' catalog, databases, electronic collections, streaming media, and much more.
Journals
There are a number of journals you may find useful in your study of music and activism. Here are a few journal titles:
A couple of more general, popular periodicals:
A-Z Databases
Looking for another database?
The libraries' A-Z Database list is an excellent resource for identifying appropriate databases for your research. This tool gives you the option to view the libraries' databases by subject, database type, and publisher. If you have a specific database or keyword in mind, you can enter this information in the search bar. To find databases on a specific subject, click the arrows next to "All Subjects" to view the options.
