It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Art and Art History : Videos
The Art and Art History Collections are located on the 3rd floor of Gorgas. While this guide provides information related to searching our collections online, you should take some time to browse the shelves!
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. NOTE: Kanopy HBO titles require High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP). Please ensure you are using a device and monitor that support HDCP.
Swank Motion Pictures provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented by Swank’s services include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, and more.
For the latest information on system requirements, CLICK HERE.
Latin America in Video offers original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more.
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
Asian Film Online offers a view of Asian culture as seen through the lens of the independent Asian filmmaker. Through a selection of narrative feature films, documentaries and shorts curated by film scholars and critics, the collection offers highly relevant perspectives and insights onto themes relevant across Asia, including modernity, globalization, female agency, social and political unrest, and cultural and sexual identity.
Dance in Video is a video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos.
Digital Theatre Plus offers a range of recent British productions in theatre, music and dance. It includes leading theatrical productions from The Old Vic, the Royal Shakespeare Company, and the Royal Court Theatre, as well as opera and dance productions by Glyndebourne and the English National Ballet, and concerts by the London Symphony Orchestra. The site also offers films of rehearsals, and discussions and interviews about the process of creating a production.
Access to length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met’s Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date. Every opera includes an English synopsis, with synopses in multiple languages available for many more.
The TVNA collection holds individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks - ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN - and hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
Equipment Requirements: Users will need RealOne media play installed to view the video clips.