COM 122: Critical Decision Making

Access to viewpoint articles, topic overviews, statistics, primary documents and websites on social issues.

Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.

Statista is a statistics portal to the world of data and facts from thousands of sources onto a single platform. Categorized into subject sectors, Statista provides patrons with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistical data can be downloaded directly into PowerPoint, Excel, and JPG formats.

A vast collection of U.S. news from local, regional, and national sources. Get full text and digital image access to local papers like The Birmingham News, The Mobile Press-Register, The Huntsville Times, and more.

The digitized print edition of current issues and archives of The Crimson White, the student news organization and paper of record for The University of Alabama. It is circulated daily throughout UA campus and the Tuscaloosa area. Students of all majors work in all areas of the paper, from the production to editing. The print edition is published every Monday and Thursday during the Spring and Fall terms (excluding campus holidays and breaks), and every Wednesday during Summer term. The Crimson White online version can be accessed freely at http://www.cw.ua.edu/.

Explore Tuscaloosa history through local news, events and people with Tuscaloosa News Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Full-text access 2008-present. Digital Image access 2022-present

Access requires on-campus authentication.

Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.

Gale OneFile: Communications and Mass Media Collection covers many aspects of the communications field, including advertising and public relations, journalism, mass communications, telecommunications and film, language and linguistics, and more. Offers full-text access to peer-reviewed journals, trade journals and popular magazines, newsletters, and videos.