Skip to main content

Nursing Reference Guide: Citation Help

This guide contains nursing resources and information. Links below provide a starting place for your nursing research project.

Proquest RefWorks

Guide to New RefWorks and  check out Proquest Refworks Youtube channel

 For further assistance feel free to contact :

Mangala Krishnamurthy, Reference Librarian, Capstone College of Nursing Liaison from UA Libraries , 205-348-2109, mkrishna@ua.edu

 

 

Proquest Refworks

Direct Export

RefWorks Finding fulltext and saving files as attachment

At UA Libraries look for Fulltext link instead of 365 link ( open URL Link)

Citation Guide

Research can be a daunting task.

UA Libraries provides many resources to assist you in your research and paper writing.

From personal consultations with a subject specialist to tutorials on a variety of subjects, the library is here to help you succeed.

Citation can be especially difficult for researchers. Check out these great online sources for help.

American Medical Association Manual of Style

Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association

APA e-version

A Manual for Writers of Research Papers, Theses, and Dissertations  (Chicago Style, Turabian)

MLA

The Elements of Style - The online home of William Strunk, Jr.'s print source; a great resource for all things concerning grammar and usage

The Purdue Online Writing Lab - A great free resource for all manners of citation from Purdue University

 ChompChomp - Grammar rules (including definitions to common grammar terms).     

  Grammarly Grammar checker to proofread writing.         

Medical Writing

The Research Paper Writing and Citation Guide - The College of William and Mary's excellent guide to a large amount of research and citation resources.

Designing Effective Posters

Web of Science Journal Citation Reports (Very useful tool for looking at journal impact factors)

Tools to find the journal for the paper/ manuscript submission

JANE (Journal/Author Name Estimator ) -  All journals included in Medline (PubMed) are included in Jane.

 

Google Scholar - Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.

Choose the right journal for your research

 

RefWorks - Using Write-N-Cite to create Bibliography

RefWorks lets you create bibliography using various writing styles. See example below

Refer RefWorks Guide to download writeNcite feature on word for Windows/Mac to use while writing paper and bring in references from  Refworks in to the paper.

 

 

Endnote

EndNote

The University of Alabama offically supports EndNote citation management softwareIt is completely free for students, faculty and staff. Use EndNote to manage, organize, and cite references within an office document. To download EndNote visit - https://oit.ua.edu/software/endnote/

UA Libraries EndNote guide

CItation Managers Comparison Chart

EndNote 9 Tutorial

Reference Mangament Software -RefWorks

 

The University of Alabama offically supports RefWorks citation management software. It is completely free for students, faculty and staff. Use Refowrks to manage, organize, and cite references within an office document.


How to export citations to RefWorks?
How to export/import Citations from databases to RefWorks?

For majority of the database, items may be easily exported to RefWorks. You will see a direct link on the record to export the citation into RefWorks.

However, there are some instances in which the information may have to be imported. The PubMed database provides the perfect example.
 
 
The steps and tips given below (PubMed & PubMed central) in this guide can help you Importing Items from PubMed Database into RefWorks:

 

  1. Perform your search in the PubMed database. Check the box next to the references you want to import to RefWorks.

  2. Click the Send To button and choose Clipboard. **If you are using EndNote software, you choose Citation Manager. 

  3. You can add multiple batches; PubMed will hold your Clipboard items for 8 hours, even if you log out.

Once you are done adding references to your clipboard in PubMed:

  1. Open the Clipboard. Click the Clipboard link beneath the search bar or select Go to the clipboard page in the note that pops up after adding a batch of references.

  2. Click Save to save your citations to a file. ( on your device) 

  3. The Save citations to file options will appear. Select PubMed from the Format menu and click Create file.

  4. Your file will show up in your browser's download directory. Now you have saved your references in a format that can be imported by RefWorks.

Import the a citation file created by PubMed into RefWorks:

  1. In RefWorks, create a folder for the project.

  2. Click the + sign ( also indicates ‘add’) at the top left and choose Import References.

  3. Look for “Drop file here or select a file from your computer”.  Drag and drop the folder icon, or find the file in your Downloaded file and drag that over and drop it into the bar.

  4. Citations will automatically be entered into your Last Imported Folder in RefWorks.

  5. Move the items from Last Imported to the project-specific folder you have created.

        6. You can view the saved citations, edit, print, create Bibliography by selecting the Style manual of your choice. Make sure the format is correct               since this is computer generated file.

        7. Use there citations while writing your papers by using the Write-N-Cite option in RefWorks/Word.

 

Search PubMed database in RefWorks and get the citations into RefWorks:

1. Log into RefWorks Account

2. Click on Search and select online catalor or Database and select PubMed

3. Look for Author, subject, topic

4. Select the citations and click Import

5. Create a folder or put the imported citations into existing folder

 

 

 

 

 
 

Did You Know?

You could do Image Searches in PubMed, JBI, CINAHL