Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Astronomy Reference Guide: Articles & Databases

This Guide contains Astronomy resources and information. Links within tabs provide a starting place for your Astronomy research project.

Databases

Recommended Databases For Initial Searching

ADS Abstact Service

SAO/NASA Astrophysics Data System Abstract Service provides a gateway to the online Astronomy and Physics literature.

ARIBIB

The ARIBIB is an on-line database for astronomical bibliography. Produced by the Astronomisches Rechen-Institut (ARI) at Heidelberg.

Inspec

A bibliographic database providing abstracts and indexing to the world's scientific and technical papers in a variety of scientific subjects including astronomy, physics, engineering, and information technology. 

Web of Science

Database for several interdisciplinary citation indexes including the Science Citation Index. Many full-text references available.

Scopus

Scopus is one of the largest abstract and citation databases of research literature and quality web sources. Scopus covers 18,500 titles from more than 5,000 international publishers across the sciences, technology, and medicine.

Dissertations & Theses  

ProQuest Dissertations & Theses includes citations, some abstracts, and many full texts for dissertations and theses ranging from the first U.S. dissertation, accepted in 1861, to those accepted as recently as last semester. The full text of most U.S. dissertations and master’s thesis from 1995 forward is provided including those written at The University of Alabama.

NTIS

NTIS (The National Technical Information Service) is the premier database for accessing unclassified reports from influential U.S. and international government agencies. The database contains access to millions of critical citations from government departments such as NASA, the U.S. Department of Energy and the U.S. Department of Defense.

arXiv.org Open access e-prints in Mathematics, Physics, Computer Science, Quantitative Biology, Quantitative Finance and Statistics. Usually these are articles before peer-review.

 

 

 


Other Databases For Further Searching

NASA Technical Reports Server

NTRS provides access to approximately 500K aerospace related citations, 90K full-text online documents, and 111K images and videos.

SpringerMaterials

Provides access to numerical and graphical data about properties of materials.

ScienceDirect

Elsevier published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

Scitation

Provides access to a number of science and engineering databases.  A good number of full-text articles are available. 

SpringerLink

Springer published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

Wiley Online Library

Wiley published content including access to a large variety of scientific articles, eBooks, and reference sources.

NASA/IPAC Extragalatic Database

NASA/IPAC  is a master list of extragalactic objects for which cross-identifications of names have been established, accurate positions and redshifts entered to the extent possible, and some basic data collected. Bibliographic references relevant to individual objects have been compiled, and abstracts of extragalactic interest are kept on line.

SIMBAD Astronomical Database

The SIMBAD astronomical database provides basic data, cross-identifications, bibliography and measurements for astronomical objects outside the solar system. SIMBAD can be queried by object name, coordinates and various criteria. Lists of objects and scripts can be submitted. Links to some other on-line services are also provided.

 

 

Finding Specific Articles

Availability From The University of Alabama Libraries

Electronic Journals Page

Check the Electronics Journal Page first to find a specific journal title and determine if The University of Alabama provides electronic access to the article.

Classic Catalog

If the article is not available electronically, use our Classic Catalog search engine to determine if the The University of Alabama has a print copy available (limit search results to Journal Title).


Availability From Other Libraries

Interlibrary Loan

If The University of Alabama Libraries does not provide local access to the article you are looking for, use our ILL (interlibrary loan service) to request a scanned PDF copy from another library. It is completely free to use, and expect your article to arrive within a few days.