Private Companies
- Reference Solutions This link opens in a new window
This directory of millions of U.S. businesses is searchable by name, industry, location, or a combination. Also includes closed and historical businesses, jobs and internships and consumers.
Public Companies
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers, formerly OneSource Global Business Browser, provides access to industry analysis, company profiles, corporate families, key executives, and financial data.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
An internet-based research service covering thousands of stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Also includes Fund and Analyst reports.
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A suite of extensive financial information on US and international public companies. Mergent Online provides digital images of annual reports to shareholders, complete text of SEC filings, equity research reports, global historical stock prices, corporate and municipal bond data, and industry reports. Also includes Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Data.
- EDGARSearch for a company's SEC filings. Includes all financial, new issues, mergers, joint venture, insider trading etc. Popular Types:
8-K: Released any time a company has a 'significant event'. Includes things like hiring a new director, M&A announcement, earnings releases, legal disputes etc.
10-K: Annual report filed with the SEC. This contains financial data executive compensation, business activities etc. The 10-K contains all information - good and bad - with no 'spin' on it.
10-Q: Quarterly financial reports.
DEF 14A: Proxy filing. Submitted prior to annual meeting of shareholders, it contains information such as director backgrounds, committee structures, corporate governance and will have executive compensation information if left out of the 10-K.