Subsidiaries
A subsidiary is a company that is owned by another company, known as a parent. For example, Alabama Power (subsidiary) is owned by Southern Company (parent). Information about subsidiaries is harder to find because much is consolidated into the parent companies financial statements. However, many subsidiaries are public companies and, therefore, have financial information available in our databases.
To find a list of subsidiaries of a company we can use the following databases:
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A suite of extensive financial information on US and international public companies. Mergent Online provides digital images of annual reports to shareholders, complete text of SEC filings, equity research reports, global historical stock prices, corporate and municipal bond data, and industry reports. Also includes Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Data.
- EDGARSearch for your company. When you get a list of results type 10-K in the Filing Type box. You can open the full document (but this could be several hundred pages) or if you look at the Type column, go to Ex-21. Exhibit 21 in a 10-K is the list of subsidiaries. If you click this, you will get a list of subsidiaries, % ownership and company jurisdiction.
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers, formerly OneSource Global Business Browser, provides access to industry analysis, company profiles, corporate families, key executives, and financial data.
Financial/Industry Ratios
- Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
A suite of extensive financial information on US and international public companies. Mergent Online provides digital images of annual reports to shareholders, complete text of SEC filings, equity research reports, global historical stock prices, corporate and municipal bond data, and industry reports. Also includes Dun & Bradstreet Private Company Data.
- Morningstar Investment Research Center This link opens in a new window
An internet-based research service covering thousands of stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds. Also includes Fund and Analyst reports.
Analyst Reports
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers, formerly OneSource Global Business Browser, provides access to industry analysis, company profiles, corporate families, key executives, and financial data.
- Gale Business: Insights This link opens in a new window
Formerly known as Business Insights: Essentials, this database offers current competitive intelligence on companies, career and investment opportunities. It includes company histories, rankings, brand/product info, Investext, CDA Investment Insider, HR Law Case Digest, and association contact information.
Competitors
- D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
D&B Hoovers, formerly OneSource Global Business Browser, provides access to industry analysis, company profiles, corporate families, key executives, and financial data.
Bloomberg
The Bruno Library has two mulit-screen Bloomberg terminals for student/faculty use. These are located on the first floor.
The applications contained within Bloomberg go far beyond the scope of this guide, but even the new user can find a lot of useful information by just following a few simple steps:
Press the red CONN DEFAULT key
Enter the login name/password located in the upper-right side of the keyboard
Type the ticker or name of the company. A menu will appear with instances where that company appears. For the majority of UA users this will be the company equity function. For example, searching for Southwest Airlines, click on LUV US Equity.
The Equity menu will appear for you company. Choose the item you would like to see or query on.
The following link contains a PDF with some basic equity functions that will be extremely useful to anyone perfoming company/industry analysis:
- Bloomberg BasicsThis PDF contains basic commands for getting valuable equity information about a company, how to compare your company to an industry or index, management, ratios and much more.