Medieval Art History

This database provides full-text coverage of periodicals and books covering art and architecture. In addition, it offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for an Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others.

ARTstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.

Arts & Humanities Citation Index is a multidisciplinary database covering the journal literature of the arts and humanities. It indexes many of the world's leading arts and humanities journals, as well as covering individually selected, relevant items from major science and social science journals. Coverage: 1985-present

Provides searchable indexing spanning 55 years of art journalism from noted publications around the globe, reflecting coverage provided from 1929 through 1984. Art Index Retrospective cites sources published in French, Italian, German, Spanish, and Dutch, as well as in English. In addition to periodicals, users will find data from important yearbooks and select museum bulletins.

HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Formerly known as the Index of Christian Art, this database is both text and image although some works of art may not have an accompanying image. Approximately thirty percent of the images, due to copyright laws, are restricted for public use and cannot be accessed by the public subscriber. To compensate for this every effort is made to include, where possible, a bibliographic reference which will include a published image of the work and this can be consulted outside of the electronic resource.

The range of subjects dealt with in the paper files is indicated by the thousands of Subject terms on this site, which are used to classify both the paper files and works in this database. It is important to remember that a number of these Subject Terms will not link to any works of art in this internet site but that works will be found in the paper files awaiting computerization.

IMB, a project of the Medieval Academy of America, is an interdisciplinary bibliography of articles in journals, conference proceedings, essay collections, and festschriften, relating to the Middle Ages in Europe, North Africa, and the Near East, 300-1500. It is cross-searchable with the Bibliographie de Civilisation Médiévale and contains live links to the Lexikon des Mittelalters and the International Encyclopaedia for the Middle Ages.

Iter’s bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues). Also includes a directory of scholars, Iter Italicum, and online journals.

Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.

Oxford Bibliographies Online is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules for the social sciences and humanities. This database combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, and guides researchers to scholarship produced across a wide variety of subjects.

Oxford Art Online offers access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.

Indexes theses written in participating colleges and universities the United Kingdom. Some of the full-texts are free; others are available for a fee.