Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This guide serves as a curated list of our published and unpublished materials relating to Native American history and culture. Select one of the tabs above to find research sources by subject.
As most of these materials were created by outsiders to Native American cultures, they are best used in research that focuses on how European American and African American viewed these peoples and interacted with them.
UA Libraries subscribes to several databases that feature primary sources about Native American history and culture, including
- Early Encounters in North America: Early Encounters in North America: Peoples, Cultures, and the Environment documents the relationships among Native American, African and European peoples in North America from 1534 to 1850. Using diaries, memoirs, letters, travel accounts and other primary sources, this collection focuses on personal accounts and provides unique perspectives from many people, including traders, slaves, missionaries, explorers, soldiers, native peoples, and officials, both men and women.
- American Indian Histories and Cultures: Material from the Newberry Library’s Edward E. Ayer Collection contains early contacts between Europeans and American Indians and the subsequent political, social and cultural effects of those encounters on American Indian life. It covers the period from early western frontier right through to the civil rights movement of the mid-twentieth century.
- Sabin Americana, 1500-1926: Based on Joseph Sabin's landmark bibliography, this collection contains works about the Americas published throughout the world from 1500 to the early 1900's. Included are books, pamphlets, serials and other documents that provide original accounts of exploration, trade, colonialism, slavery and abolition, the western movement, Native Americans, military actions and much more.
To find these and others, go to the UA Libraries databases list, and try searching for the terms native or indian.