Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
MLA Bibliography Resources
The MLA International Bibliography is an essential tool for research in all aspects of modern languages and literature. Available as a searchable online database of more than 2.7 million records and constantly updated by scholars in the field, the bibliography is used by academics and teachers around the world to find and share their work. Students at all levels rely on the bibliography to lead them to the journals, books, Web sites, and other publications they need to succeed in their research projects.
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text
Produced by the Modern Language Association of America, consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in over 3,000 journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
MLA International Bibliography Vimeo Channel
MLA has produced around 52 videos to help support various search strategies and tasks within the bibliography's database. Check them out and learn some useful skills for effective research!
Using the MLA International Bibliography
The MLA has developed an online course to teach students how to use the MLA International Bibliography for college-level research. Each of the five units in the course presents a lesson, followed by progression questions to reinforce the lesson through active engagement with the bibliography, and a quiz. Students will receive a badge upon passing each quiz and a course-completion badge after completing all the lessons and passing all five quizzes.