Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Large Collections of Secondary Materials
Cambridge Companions Complete Collection
This database provides online access to three components of the Cambridge Companion series from Cambridge University Press: Cambridge Companions to Literature and Classics; Cambridge Companions to Religion, Philosophy, and Culture; and Cambridge Companions to Music. The collection is fully searchable by author, title, subject, or keyword.
Oxford Bibliographies Online is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules for the social sciences and humanities. This database combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, and guides researchers to scholarship produced across a wide variety of subjects.
Oxford Handbooks Online
The Oxford Handbooks in this online edition provide topic overviews and critical surveys of the current state of scholarship for a wide range of topics. Subject areas include Architecture, Business & Management, Classical Studies, Criminology & Criminal Justice, Economics & Finance, History, Law, Linguistics, Literature, Music, Philosophy, Political Science, Psychology, and Religion.
NOTE: The library subscribes to selective titles.The latest content for most titles is 2013.
Early Modern British Bibliography and Criticism
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online
A comprehensive bibliography of Shakespeare criticism; the best source for performances reviews.
Milton: A Bibliography
A source for early Milton criticism; brings together all manuscripts and editions of John Milton's works and all studies and critical statements concerning his life and works, all allusions and quotations, and all significant imitations during the years 1624-1799.
History & Culture
Find background information on your topic through these historical databases:
Historical Abstracts with Full Text
Covers the history of the world (excluding the United States and Canada) from 1450 to the present.
America: History & Life with Full Text
Provides historical and cultural coverage of the United States and Canada from prehistory to the present. Includes information abstracted from journals published worldwide.
Iter: Gateway to the Middle Ages and Renaissance
Iter’s bibliography includes literature pertaining to the Middle Ages and Renaissance (400-1700). Citations for books, journal material (articles, reviews, review articles, bibliographies, catalogues, abstracts and discographies) are included, as are citations for essays in books (including entries in conference proceedings, festschriften, encyclopedias and exhibition catalogues). Also includes a directory of scholars, Iter Italicum, and online journals.
Early Modern/Shakespeare Editions
Early Modern British Secondary Sources
Shakespeare presents unique challenges and opportunities. See these resources in addition to those listed elsewhere in this guide.
Cambridge Collections Online: Shakespeare Survey by Volume
Shakespeare Survey is a series of Shakespeare studies and production, with one volume published each year. Each volume is devoted to a theme, play or group of plays and contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies.
Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online
The Cambridge Edition of the Works of Ben Jonson Online, a fully searchable version of the print edition, presents Jonson's complete writings for readers of the twenty-first century, in the light of current editorial thinking and recent scholarly interpretation and discovery. Includes all the original introductions, collations, and commentary, but it complements, develops, and vastly extends the print edition with a large and flexible array of textual and contextual materials. It also includes a comprehensive body of essays and archives necessary for full study of Jonson's life, performance history, and afterlife. It contains old-spelling texts, contextual documents, essays, several high-quality images, and music scores; it lists details of stage performances, and has a cross-linked bibliography.
Multicultural Literary Works in English
A few examples of titles and series available when searching Cambridge Companions:
- Cambridge Studies in African and Caribbean Literature
- The Cambridge History of Latina/o American Literature
- The Cambridge Companion to Latina/o American Literature
British and American Author Resources