Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Action Research for Education: Start Here

Overview of Action Research and how it is used in Education. Includes resources for undergraduates who want to know where to find materials on Action Research and for graduate students who are thinking of using an Action Research project as the subject f

ACTION RESEARCH

Action Research is defined as any systematic inquiry conducted by teachers, administrators, counselors, or others with a vested interest in the teaching and learning process or environment for the purpose of gathering information about how their particular schools operate, how they teach, and how their students learn.  (Mills, 2007)

Generally action research is research that is done by teacher for teachers.

Action Research References

Journal Articles

Bradshaw, S., & Vaughn, M. (2016). Revisiting retrospective miscue analysis to support students and teachers during an action research project.Journal of Research in Education, 26(1), 54-75. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1118480&site=ehost-live

Bulut, A. (2017). Improving 4th grade primary school students' reading comprehension skills. Universal Journal of Educational Research, 5(1), 23-30. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1124667&site=ehost-live

Goodnough, K., & Murphy, E. (2017). The professional learning of grade six teachers of mathematics implementing the flipped classroom approach. Canadian Journal of Learning and Technology, 43(1)

McManus, M. S., & Thiamwong, L. (2015). Enhancing fourth grade students' writing achievement through purposeful experiential learning: An action research study. Universal Journal of Educational Research, 3(12), 997-1000. Retrieved from http://search.ebscohost.com/login.aspx?direct=true&db=eric&AN=EJ1083248&site=ehost-live

Rice, L. J., & McKeny, T. S. (2012). Making teacher change visible: Developing an action research protocol for elementary mathematics instruction. Journal of Research in Education, 22(1), 266-290.

 

Journal Articles

In Education there are three types of journals.

1. Popular - not refereed or peer reviewed.  Lots of advertisements.  Colorful.  No References at the end of articles.

2. Practitioner - Refereed.  Few advertisements.  Colorful.  Medium length articles.  References at the end of the articles.  Applied research.  Often published by a professional association.  Audience is the teacher or Administrator in the schools and classroom.

3. Research - Refereed.  No advertisements.  Long articles with extensive references.  Research based.  Often published by a professional association.  Audience is other researchers or academics and teachers or administrators.

For More Information on Scholarly vs Popular Journal Articles see the link below

Databases

The University of Alabama provides over 300 databases in all subjects.  Click on the  UA LibGuides A-Z Database List  for a complete list, or use the specialized lists for Action Research that is listed below.

The University Libraries Database List offers general subject lists and an alphabetical list.

Here are few Databases

How to Search a Database

How Do I Search a Database?

Use the Search Boxes in the database to Select a Topic.

Type in Keywords.

Then select "Full Text" and "Peer Reviewed."

If your assignment requires articles within a date range, select those dates in the appropriate box.

Click Search.

This will take you to a page with citations for journal articles.   Click on the entry and then on the PDF box and you will be able to see the article you have selected.

Subject Guide

Benita Strnad's picture
Benita Strnad
Contact:
205-348-1508
Subjects:Education