It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Humanities and Creativity Seminar Guide--Dr. John Miller: Databases for Art images, Performance Videos, Movies, and Streaming Music Resources
Based on the American Antiquarian Society’s collection of American broadsides and ephemera, this digital edition offers fully searchable facsimile images of numerous broadsides printed between 1820 and 1900 and various ephemera printed between 1760 and 1900. The collection is cross-searchable with other parts of America’s Historical Imprints.
ARTstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
Berg Fashion Library provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. This resource features articles written by noted history of fashion experts and included images from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Content also includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
The Berliner Philharmoniker's Digital Concert Hall makes available live video of concerts by this great orchestra. The site also offers on-demand streaming of both recent and archived concerts by the Berlin Philharmonic, as well as educational films about important musicians and musical works.
Instructions for Access:
In order to access Berliner Philharmoniker Digital Concert Hall, users must create an account. To create an account, use your Crimson or Bama email account and select "Start institutional access" to begin registration. After registration, select “I would like to use the free institutional access for my account.” You will receive an e-mail asking you to confirm your registration. Accounts can only be created while on campus, but returning users can use their login credentials to access from anywhere.
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
Dance in Video is a video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos.
Oxford Music Online (OMO) is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Patrons can cross-search products for full text articles, browse by subject, and link to images, digital sound, and related sites.
Access to length Met performances, including HD videos from the Met’s Live in HD series of movie theater transmissions, telecasts from the 1970s, ‘80s, and ‘90s, and radio broadcasts dating back to 1935. All videos include English subtitles, and recent HD videos include subtitles in French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Russian, Spanish, and/or Swedish. New titles are added every month, with most of the Met’s Live in HD programs coming online a few months after their live transmission date. Every opera includes an English synopsis, with synopses in multiple languages available for many more.
Comprehensive collection of classical music available for streaming online; also includes selections from historical recordings, jazz, world, folk, and Chinese music. Contains the entire Naxos, Marco Polo, and Da Capo catalogs as well as recordings from the Canadian Broadcasting Corporation, BIS (Sweden), and Analekta. Updated monthly.
Unlimited simultaneous users. The Naxos Music Library streams exclusively with Adobe Flash Player. If Adobe Flash Player 10 is not installed on your computer, please take a moment and install: http://www.adobe.com/products/flashplayer/.
Naxos Music Library Jazz features a wide range of jazz music, from jazz legends to contemporary jazz. Recordings are from various artists and labels, including Blue Note Records, Warner Jazz, EMI, Fantasy, and others. New albums are added weekly.
Oxford Art Online offers access to Grove Art Online, the Encyclopedia of Aesthetics, The Oxford Companion to Western Art, and The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Art Terms, as well as many specially commissioned articles and bibliographies available exclusively online.
WGSN Fashion, formerly Stylesight, helps assess current trends, collaborate and analyze trend forecasts and report for effective results during a design cycle. Its image library includes photos of women's, men's & children's fashion as well as interiors including coverage of all designer collections from New York, Paris, London, Milan and more. New content is added daily.
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing allowing users to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
Women's Wear Daily (WWD) provides a balance of timely, credible business news and key fashion trends for retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, Wall Street analysts, international moguls, media executives, ad agencies, trend-makers and socialites.
Licensed for 7 simultaneous users. If you have trouble viewing PDF documents simply right-click and select 'save target as' or 'save link as' to download the PDF.