Databases
Much of your research will occur via Scout or specific databases.The University of Alabama provides over 300 databases in all subjects. Here are few databases pertinent to educational qualitative research:
- Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology.
- Dissertations and Theses at University of Alabama This link opens in a new window
This database is a companion to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, featuring current research from the University of Alabama with citations and abstracts for dissertations and theses. Full text can be downloaded by authorized University of Alabama users.
- Educator's Reference Complete (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
Gale OneFile: Educator's Reference is a collection of journals & periodicals that seeks to provide full text for titles in the ERIC database and covers multiple levels of education from preschool to college, and every educational specialty—such as technology, bilingual education, health education, and testing. It also provides insight on issues in administration, funding, and policy.
- ERIC EBSCOhost This link opens in a new window
ERIC Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
- APA PsycINFO This link opens in a new window
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
- SAGE Journals This link opens in a new window
E-journals on the SAGE platform covering a wide range of academic subject areas in the Social Sciences.
- SAGE Research Methods Online This link opens in a new window
SAGE Research Methods is an online research tool created to help students and researchers across the social and behavioral sciences to design research projects, understand methods or identify new methods, conduct research, and write up their findings.
E-Journals
- Educational Management Administration & LeadershipPresents research and analysis on all aspects of leadership, management, administration and policy in education.
- Education JournalCovers education & children's services policy, management & leadership issues.
- International Journal of Leadership in EducationStrives to extend the dialogue from traditional educational administration to the themes of professional supervision, development & leadership.
- International Journal of Teacher LeadershipDesigned to promote scholarly inquiry that seeks to understand the relationship between the practice and research of teacher leaders in the K-20 context of pedagogical leadership.
- Journal of Cases in Educational LeadershipPublishes peer-reviewed cases appropriate for use in programs that prepare educational leaders. The journal offers a wide range of cases that embody relevant and timely presentations of issues germane to the preparation of educational leaders.
- Journal of Interdisciplinary Teacher LeadershipThe primary audience for the journal is educators, administrators, and researchers both formal and informal of all disciplines but with a primary focus on the interdisciplinary nature of STEM. Topics will include scholarly articles on proven teaching strategies, community engagement, advocacy, leadership, professional development, research/industry experiences, literary reviews and educational research as they relate to interdisciplinary education.
- Journal of School LeadershipArticles examining educational administration in its broadest sense, application of theory in educational administration, staff development programs, utilization of educational administration concepts, practical applications of concepts.
- Teachers College RecordPublishes research, analysis, and commentary in the field of education.
- Journal of Cases in Educational LeadershipThe Journal of Cases in Educational Leadership (JCEL) publishes, in electronic format, peer-reviewed cases appropriate for use in educational leadership preparation efforts across the globe. The cases provide a narrative and teaching notes with the aim being to prompt rich discussion and inquiry about issues pertinent to educational leadership across global contexts.
Finding Articles
As graduate students, you will be expected to locate and access journal articles for your coursework, research, and scholarly development. UA Libraries has numerous resources you may utilize to find these articles including Scout, Library Catalog, and multiple databases. Watch the Refining Your Search video below, then see the example database searches.
It's important to remember that HOW and WHERE you search greatly affect your search results. If you are unable to find what you need, contact a librarian for assistance.
Sample ERIC EBSCOhost search: educational leadership OR educational administration
Sample Professional Development Collection search: educational leadership OR educational administration
Sample PsycINFO search: educational leadership OR educational administration