Subject Databases
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers journal literature in the life sciences including general biology, cell biology, genetics, zoology, botany, microbiology, evolutionary biology, molecular biology, ecology and more.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text of various bioscience research journals, most of which are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Browsable by date and searchable by author and keyword in the title, abstract, full-text, or reference fields.
- Biosis Previews This link opens in a new windowIncludes journals, as well as non-journal literature from published reports, annual or irregular reviews, books, and patents dealing with life sciences. It also includes published meeting papers from worldwide conferences and symposia. Subjects include pre-clinical and experimental research methods and instrumentation, animal studies, environmental and consumer issues, as well as other areas in the life sciences. Specific studies include biology, neurology, agronomy, genetics, zoology, food science & technology, anatomy, embryology, neuroanatomy and more.
- Inter-Research This link opens in a new windowInter-Research Science Center is a self-sustaining international Science Center that publishes journals and books in the environmental sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
This database covers animal biology. The scope of coverage, back to 1864, ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. Includes periodicals as well as many books, reports and meetings.
bioRxiv (the preprint server for biology)
This is an online archive of unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Database is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank
Repository of Data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides, and other biomolecules.
Core Databases
- Engineering Village 2 This link opens in a new window
Information discovery platform for the engineering community that allows users to search a single or multiple databases simultaneously and with data deduplication. Databases included: Compendex; GEOBASE; Inspec; Knovel; and NTIS.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Information source for scientific, medical, and technical research, and also includes social science and humanities topics. Contains articles on topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer and materials science, and medicine, and links to journal titles and articles that have been accepted for publication but not yet in print. Users also have access to Medline, a web search engine, and information on available jobs for scientists.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
- Springer Journals This link opens in a new windowSpringer ejournals covering a wide variety of topics in the sciences.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new windowJournals from Taylor & Francis publishers that cover a wide variety of topics including accounting, medicine, politics, science, and gender studies.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and books in the areas of business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, engineering, law, life and medical sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, and psychology.
Books
Phylogeny and Evolution of the Mollusca by Call Number: QL406.7 .P49 2008ISBN: 9780520250925Publication Date: 2008-03-25
Pennak's Freshwater Invertebrates of the United States by Call Number: QL365.365 .S65 2001ISBN: 0471358371Publication Date: 2001-08-07
