Database Explanation
What is Web of Science?
Web of Science is a platform that provides access to multidisciplinary indexes. It covers: biomedical sciences, natural sciences, engineering, social sciences, arts and humanities.
Within Web of Science you can limit your search to specific indexes.
- All Databases - this option will search all of the databases within Web of Science. There may be overlap in coverage from different indexes, and content from other subject areas.
- Web of Science Core Collection (this is the default search) - this option will give you access to over 69 million records from the sciences, social sciences, and arts and humanities.
- Biological Abstracts - covers life science and biomedical research literature.
- BIOSIS Previews - over 165,000 records covering botany, zoology, microbiology and related interdisciplinary fields.
- Zoological Record - over 4 million records covering behavior, biodiversity, ecology, evolution genetics, morphology, taxonomy and more.
Databases
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive information for each bird species. Includes content from Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World. Includes bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text of various bioscience research journals, most of which are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Browsable by date and searchable by author and keyword in the title, abstract, full-text, or reference fields.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers access to peer-reviewed full-text journals, books, reference works, handbooks and book series covering topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer, materials science, medicine and social sciences and humanities.
