Fashion Databases
-
Berg Fashion Library This link opens in a new window
Berg Fashion Library provides integrated text and image content on world dress and fashion throughout history. This resource features articles written by noted history of fashion experts and included images from the Victoria and Albert Museum. Content also includes the Berg Encyclopedia of World Dress and Fashion.
-
WGSN Fashion This link opens in a new window
Helps assess current trends, collaborate and analyze trend forecasts and report for effective results during a design cycle. Its image library includes photos of women's, men's & children's fashion as well as interiors including coverage of all designer collections from New York, Paris, London, Milan and more. New content is added daily.
-
Vogue Archive, The This link opens in a new window
A complete searchable archive of American Vogue, from the first issue in 1892 to the current month, reproduced in high-resolution color page images. Every page, advertisement, cover and fold-out has been included, with indexing allowing users to find images by garment type, designer and brand names.
-
WWD This link opens in a new windowWomen's Wear Daily (W.W.D.) provides a balance of timely, credible business news and key fashion trends for retailers, designers, manufacturers, marketers, financiers, Wall Street analysts, international moguls, media executives, ad agencies, trend-makers and socialites.
Digital Fashion and Costume Collections
Fashion Encyclopedias
-
Encyclopedia of Clothing and Fashion
by
Call Number: GT507 .E53 2005 v.1-3 (Gorgas Library Reference)Publication Date: 2004-09-22A new addition to the Scribner Daily Life series, this broad-based encyclopedia surveys clothing and body adornment, and examines the origins of clothing, the development of fabrics and technologies, and the social meanings of dress. It also presents information on representative costumes from a wide variety of historical eras. Topics range from the bustle, sari, and toga to Polyester and body piercing. cocktail dress, bathing suit, burqua, Nehru jacket), techniques and manufactures (batik, dry cleaning, zipper, stone washing), body adornment (makeup, mask, tattoo, wig), and important persons and institutions (Coco Chanel, Edith Head, Yves Saint-Laurent, Fashion Institute of Technology). The longer essays provide cultural context: class, gender, sumptuary laws, costume design for stage and screen, advertising; fashion careers; ecclesiastical dress; military uniforms; etc. -
World Clothing and Fashion
by
Call Number: Electronic AccessPublication Date: 2013-11-30Taking a global, multicultural, social, and economic perspective, this work explores the diverse and colorful history of human attire. From prehistoric times to the age of globalization, articles cover the evolution of clothing utility, style, production, and commerce, including accessories (shoes, hats, gloves, handbags, and jewelry) for men, women, and children. Dress for different climates, occupations, recreational activities, religious observances, rites of passages, and other human needs and purposes - from hunting and warfare to sports and space exploration - are examined in depth and detail. Fashion and design trends in diverse historical periods, regions and countries, and social and ethnic groups constitute a major area of coverage, as does the evolution of materials (from animal fur to textiles to synthetic fabrics) and production methods (from sewing and weaving to industrial manufacturing and computer-aided design).
Web Resources for Set and Lighting Design
Art and Architecture Image Collections
-
Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of periodicals and books covering art and architecture. In addition, it offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for an Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others.
-
American Memory This link opens in a new window
Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
-
ArtcyclopediaThe Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives: find where the works of over 8000 different fine artists can be viewed online.
-
Web Gallery of ArtSearchable image database of European art from c. 1000 - 1850.