Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Primary Sources are original sources: they were created by someone who participated in or observed an event. They include diaries, newspapers, government documents, photographs, and other manuscripts.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Current access includes: The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984); The Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003); The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991); The Chicago Defender (1909-1975); Chicago Tribune (1849-1993); Chinese Newspapers Collection (1832-1953); The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003); Hartford Courant (1764-1922); Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005); Los Angeles Times (1881-1993); Louisville Courier Journal (1830-1922); New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993); The New York Times (1851-2013); Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003); Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002); San Francisco Chronicle (1865-1922); The Scotsman (1817-1950); St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922); The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999); and The Washington Post (1877-2000).
Civil War: Part I: A Newspaper Perspective
Part of Accessible Archives, this database contains the full text of major articles gleaned from issues of The New York Herald, The Charleston Mercury and the Richmond Enquirer, published between November 1, 1860 and April 15, 1865. Included are descriptive news articles, eye-witness accounts and official reports of battles and events, editorials, advertisements and biographies. Also included are other topics such as travel, arts and leisure, geographical descriptions, sports and sporting, and social events.
Early American Newspapers, 1690-1876
Digitized versions of early American Newspapers from The American Antiquarian Society, private collections and The Library of Congress, Brown, Harvard, et al. Based on the microfilm collection of the same name.
Access requires on-campus authentication.
Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers
This collections features publications of all kinds, from political party newspapers to dailies and includes major newspapers as well as those published by African Americans, Native Americans, labor groups and other groups and interests. Also included in the collection are illustrated papers from a variety of artists.
American Antiquarian Society (AAS) Historical Periodicals Collection, Series 1-5
This collection of historical periodicals from the American Antiquarian Society documents life in America from the Colonial period through the Civil War and Reconstruction. Cover-to-cover digitizing gives access not only to the main text, but also to advertisements, illustrations, obituaries, cover art, and more.
African American Newspapers (1827-1998)
This collection includes the full text of historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states.
Access requires on-campus authentication.
African American Newspapers: The 19th Century
Part of Accessible Archives, this collection contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day, such as the Mexican War, Presidential and Congressional addresses, Congressional abstracts, business and commodity markets, the humanities, world travel and religion.
African American Periodicals, 1825-1995
This database provides access to periodicals by and about African Americans.
National Anti-Slavery Standard
Part of Accessible Archives, National Anti-Slavery Standard was the official weekly newspaper of the American Anti-Slavery Society. Part I covers 1840-1844, Part II covers 1845-1849, Part III covers 1850-1854, Part IV covers 1855-1859, Part V covers 1860-1864 and Part VI covers 1865-1870.
American Periodicals Series (Collection I)
This collection includes digitized images of the pages of American magazines and journals published from colonial days to the dawn of the 20th century. Titles range from Benjamin Franklin's General Magazine and America's first scientific journal, Medical Repository; popular magazines such as Vanity Fair and Ladies Home Journal; regional and niche publications; and groundbreaking journals like The Dial, Puck, and McClure's.
Newspapers from Other Libraries
WorldCat brings together library catalogs from around the world into one search engine. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. WorldCat can be used to verify citations, locate an item in another library, or to provide accurate citation information for inter-library loan requests.
Center for Research Libraries (CRL) Online Catalog
The Center for Research Libraries is a consortium of colleges, universities, and libraries committed to making rare scholarly resources available to scholars. The vast CRL holdings, which are available by interlibrary loan, include foreign governments; foreign doctoral dissertations; textbooks; pre-1975 college catalogs; serials from the Russian Federation and former Soviet republics; and scientific research materials. In addition, the Center maintains numerous subject collections pertaining to the history and literature of countries throughout the world.
Alabama Department of Archives & History
Search their digital collections here
Click "Search our Collections" and then "Newspapers on Microfilm" to find local newspapers by county. You could then access these through interlibrary loan.
Use Interlibrary loan to request any books, journal articles, theses/dissertations, newspapers, or other sources that the university libraries don't have. With print books and some other sources you may have to wait 1-2 weeks for them to be delivered, but electronic copies of things like scholarly journal articles can be accessed in a matter of days!