The 20th Century South

This rich collection of federal records, letters, papers, photographs, scrapbooks, financial records, and diaries is organized in five subject categories: 1) Black Freedom Struggle; 2) NAACP Papers; 3) Slavery and the Law; 4) Southern Life and African American History, 1775-1915, Plantations Records; and 5) Vietnam War and American Foreign Policy, 1960-1975.

The Black Studies Center offers a collection of primary and secondary sources that record and illuminate the Black experience, from ancient Africa through modern times.

This collection of primary resources documents the history, culture, and politics of the 1960s and early 1970's. Included are diaries, letters, autobiographies and other memoirs, written and oral histories, manifestos, government documents, memorabilia, and scholarly commentary.

A group of over 50 libraries offer this ebook collection. Depending on when the books were published, some could be used as primary sources.

This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century. Includes some of the largest American Newspapers - The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, etc.

Newspapers.com Library Edition offers full page newspaper images with searchable full-text of newspapers. Includes a huge amount of local newspapers.

This collection includes the full text of historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states.

Access requires on-campus authentication.

Part of Accessible Archives, this collection contains information about cultural life and history during the 1800s, including first-hand reports of the major events and issues of the day

Digitized versions of early American Newspapers from The American Antiquarian Society, private collections and The Library of Congress, Brown, Harvard, et al.

The Nation offers a 135-year archive of reporting opinion and criticism. It includes primary source material covering the history of politics, culture, books and the arts - in America and around the world.

This database provides access to periodicals by and about African Americans.

Reports, annuals, magazines, and newspapers from African-American churches and social service agencies. Includes materials from the African Methodist Zion Church, African Methodist Episcopal Church, as well as many Baptist churches, seminaries, hospitals, charities, orphanages, schools, and advocacy groups.

Brings together a vast amount of information published by and about the United States Congress. It provides a seamless link to the full range of legislative and public policy resources, including: Congressional documents and related resources as well as a number of publications such as the Congressional Record, United States Code, Code of Federal Regulations, and the National Journal.

Hein Online provides access to the full-text of legal periodical articles, Supreme Court opinions, U.S. Attorney General opinions, treaties and international agreements, and the Federal Register. Documents are available as photocopy-equivalent PDF files.

North American Women's Letters and Diaries offers a large collection of women's diaries and correspondence spanning more than 300 years.

This genealogical database contains personal records, photographs and historic documents. It also includes collections of census materials, military records from the American Revolution, Civil War, World War II and Vietnam, African American and Native American archives, naturalization records and more.

Ancestry Library Edition is a genealogy research tool created for the library market and provides access to a wide range of unique resources for genealogical and historical research. It includes records from the United States Census; military records; court, land and probate records; vital and church records; directories; passenger lists and more.