Coordinator of Library Instruction
Introduction
Welcome to the course guide for Sound Studies! This guide provides information on using library and web resources to find books, journal articles, scores, recordings, and digital projects related to your research topic. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
Grove (Oxford) Music Online
- Oxford Music Online This link opens in a new windowOxford Music Online is the access-point for Oxford music reference subscriptions and products, including Grove Music Online, The Oxford Companion to Music, The Oxford Dictionary of Music, and Encyclopedia of Popular Music. Patrons can cross-search products for full text articles, browse by subject, and link to images, digital sound, and related sites.
Oxford Bibliographies
- Oxford Bibliographies This link opens in a new window
Oxford Bibliographies Online is a scholar-curated library of discipline-based subject modules for the social sciences and humanities. This database combines the features of an annotated bibliography and a high-level encyclopedia, and guides researchers to scholarship produced across a wide variety of subjects.
Music Dictionaries
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Music by Call Number: Online accessDerived from the classic Oxford Dictionary of Music, this is the most authoritative dictionary of music available in paperback. It includes over 14,000 entries on musical terms from allegro to zingaro, and on musical works from Aida to Tosca, as well as musical instruments and their history, composers, librettists, musicians, singers, and orchestras. It also boasts comprehensive works lists for major composers. Fully revised and updated, the 5th edition of this established reference work contains over 200 new entries, including information on approximately 150 new performers.
The Harvard Dictionary of Music by Call Number: ML100 .A64 2003 (Gorgas Music Reference Collection, Music Library, 1st floor)A guide to the thousands of characters who people the history of music, this fourth edition of the classic dictionary brings together all the biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. A companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, this biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with care devoted to coverage of the 20th century.
The Harvard Biographical Dictionary of Music by Call Number: ML105 .H38 1996 (Gorgas Music Reference Collection, Music Library, 1st floor)A guide to the thousands of characters, who people the history of music, this volume brings together all the biographical information about composers, performers, music theorists and instrument makers from the days of praise chants to the bop and pop of today. A companion to The New Harvard Dictionary of Music, this biographical dictionary emphasizes classical and art music, but also gives attention to jazz and blues, rock and pop, and hymns and showtunes across the ages - with care devoted to coverage of the 20th century.- Baker's Biographical Dictionary of Musicians by Call Number: ML105 .B16 2001 (Gorgas Music Reference Collection, Music Library, 1st floor)"Nicolas Slonimsky's venerable single-volume reference is now a six-volume set, with better page layout and typeface, and a subject range outside its traditional concentration on classical music. Under new editorship since Slonimsky's death in 1995, coverage has expanded to over 1,000 new entries on classical music and over 2,000 new entries on jazz and popular music. Nice features include reprints of Slonimsky's witty introductions to earlier editions and indexes for genre, nationality, and women composers and musicians."--"Outstanding Reference Sources," American Libraries, May 2002.
