Using Images
On this page, you will find links to digital image collections. Like all resources that you include in your papers, presentations, and projects, digital images should be used responsibly. Although it is generally acceptable to reproduce images in your (unpublished) work for class, be sure to comply with the Terms and Conditions of Use provided by the databases or websites that you acquire the images from, and always cite your images, just as you would any other source.
For more information on how to cite images see our citation guide.
Art and Architecture Image Collections
- ARTstor This link opens in a new window
ARTstor is a digital library of images in the areas of art, architecture, the humanities, and social sciences, with a set of tools to view, present, and manage images for research and pedagogical purposes.
- Art & Architecture Complete This link opens in a new window
This database provides full-text coverage of periodicals and books covering art and architecture. In addition, it offers cover-to-cover indexing and abstracts for academic journals, magazines and trade publications. The database also provides selective coverage for an Image Collection provided by Picture Desk and others.
- American Memory This link opens in a new window
Gateway to primary source materials relating to the history and culture of the United States.
- ArtcyclopediaThe Artcyclopedia is an index of online museums and image archives: find where the works of over 8000 different fine artists can be viewed online.
- Web Gallery of ArtSearchable image database of European art from c. 1000 - 1850.
Artstor Register for an Account
This video shows you how to register for an ARTstor account and provides an overview of its many benefits. You must register for an account in order to download images.
Artstor Self-paced Training for Higher Ed
This video provides a clear, detailed overview on how to use the Artstor Digital Library.
Museum and Library Art Image Collections
- Metropolitan Museum of Art Collection DatabaseThe Collection Database is a searchable database of artworks and related materials from the permanent collection of the Metropolitan Museum of Art
- British Museum Online Collection DatabaseOver one million digital images of objects in the collection of the British Museum.
- New York Public Library Digital GalleryN.Y.P.L. Digital Gallery provides free and open access to over 700,000 images digitized from the The New York Public Library's vast collections, including illuminated manuscripts, historical maps, vintage posters, rare prints, photographs and more.
- National Gallery of ArtA searchable database of artworks and related materials from the collections and exhibitions of the National Gallery of Art.
Streaming Video Databases
- Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new windowKanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from P.B.S., B.B.C., Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more.
- Criterion Collection This link opens in a new window
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
- Swank Motion Pictures This link opens in a new windowProvides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, M.G.M., United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, etc.
- Films On Demand This link opens in a new windowFilm on Demand is a digital video streaming service providing access to educational videos from producers like A&E, P.B.S., National Geographic, and more. The Master Academic Collection includes videos across various fields of study, including health, humanities, science, business, and archival films.
