Research Guides: Imperial Spain's Golden Age: Start Here

Scholarly Journal Articles

JSTOR
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Project Muse
Project MUSE provides full-text access to more than 400 scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences.
Historical Abstracts
A bibliographic reference to the history of the world from 1450 to the present (excluding the United States and Canada). Currently over 2,000 journals published throughout the world are covered.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) Online
HAPI is an index to more than 275,000 journal articles about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.
Handbook of Latin American Studies
Selective annotated bibliography of scholarly works on Latin America published since 1936.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
This is a freely accessible site. Contents may change without warning.

Scout
Scout is the UA Libraries' academic search engine, and compiles journal articles from a wide range of databases. You may be able to find journal articles on Scout that you wouldn't be able to find in the other databases listed on this page.
Scout Tutorials
Use this page to find video tutorials on how to search using Scout.

Classic Catalog
The classic catalog is best for print books that we have on the shelves here at Gorgas. Can also be used to find eBooks, DVDs, and government documents
Scout
Use Scout to find books, eBooks, scholarly journal articles, magazine articles, newspapers, and more.

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. WorldCat can be used to verify citations, locate an item in another library, or to provide accurate citation information for inter-library loan requests. (Does not include citations to individual articles, stories in periodicals, or book chapters).

Interlibrary Loan
Use Interlibrary loan to request any books, journal articles, theses/dissertations, newspapers, or other sources that the university libraries don't have. With print books and some other sources you may have to wait 1-2 weeks for them to be delivered, but electronic copies of things like scholarly journal articles can be accessed in a matter of days!

Historians find some of their best books by browsing the shelves. Open this document for a guide to browsing the Gorgas Library for history books.

HathiTrust Digital Library This link opens in a new window
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
HathiTrust catalog records are included in Scout, but not in the Libraries’ Catalog.

Oxford Reference Online
Either search for your topic or go to subject and browse the history section.