Research Guides: Communicative Disorders: Articles & Databases

Databases

PubMed
PubMed, a service of the National Library of Medicine, provides access to MEDLINE citations back to the mid-1960's and additional life science journals. It also includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
CINAHL
CINAHL is a comprehensive database for nursing and allied health research, offering full text for journals, quick lessons, care sheets, CEU modules, and research instruments.
Cochrane Collection Plus
Cochrane Collection Plus is a comprehensive collection medical research and practice of databases from the Cochrane Library, including the Cochrane Database of Systematic Reviews, Clinical Answers, Central Register of Controlled Trials, and Methodology Register.
Joanna Briggs Institute EBP Database
Bringing together JBI evidence-based resources and journals, this resource provides evidence-based practice resources to assist healthcare professionals in implementing effective evidence-based practice programs to provide patient care.

Communication Source
Communication Source merges EBSCOs Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts (LLBA)
Linguistics and Language Behavior Abstracts provides non-evaluative abstracts of articles from serials published worldwide, coverage of recent books, enhanced dissertation listings from Dissertation Abstracts International, and bibliographic citations for book reviews that appear in journals abstracted for Sociological Abstracts, LLC.
ScienceDirect

ScienceDirect offers access to peer-reviewed full-text journals, books, reference works, handbooks and book series covering topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer, materials science, medicine and social sciences and humanities.
Health Source: Nursing/Academic Edition

The database includes scholarly medical journals, abstracts, and indexing, as well as resources like USP Pharmacopoeia DI and Stedman's Medical Dictionary. It covers various medical disciplines and includes a strong focus on nursing and allied health journals.
Ovid LWW Nursing & Health Professions Premier & Comprehensive Archive Collection
LWW (Lippincott Williams & Wilkins) Nursing & Allied Health Professions Premier & Comprehensive Archive Collection contains e-journals and peer reviewed and scholarly articles.

Web of Science
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).

APA PsycINFO
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
ERIC EBSCOhost
ERIC Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
Scopus with ScopusAI
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences, and arts & humanities.
University Libraries is conducting a 1-year pilot subscription to Scopus AI to assess the benefits and features of the product. Pilot access to the Scopus AI product is available through December 2026.

Scopus is an abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
Scopus AI is an intuitive and intelligent search tool informed by generative AI (GenAI) that delivers insights with unprecedented speed and clarity. Built in close collaboration with the academic community, it provides a window into humanity's accumulated knowledge by surfacing insights from the metadata, abstracts and author profiles in Scopus, Elsevier’s source-neutral and curated abstract and citation database.
Access Scopus AI through tab at the top of the Scopus home page.
We would love to hear your feedback about this resource. Please complete the AI Resource Survey to let us know what you think.

Reference Databases

UpToDate

UpToDate contains comprehensive evidence-based topics to quickly and easily provide specific, practical recommendations for diagnosis and treatment across a range of specialties.

Special login Instructions: Registration is required to use UpToDate. If you are a first-time user, you must register for an account using the link above. First, you will be prompted to login with your MyBama credentials. Next, you should see the UpToDate login screen. From here, click "Register Now" to create an account. Please note: When registering for an account, it is recommended that you use your University email account.

If you are a returning user, you may use your UpToDate login to access the resource from anywhere at https://www.uptodate.com/login.
Users must, periodically, reauthorize their account with UpToDate in order to maintain access. To reauthorize your account, following the Access Database link above, log in through myBama when prompted, and then log in through UpToDate. After logging in through UpToDate, your account will re-authorize and you can use UpToDate from anywhere once again.
Visible Body Web Suite

Access to a vast library of 3D models, animations, diagnostic images, and learning modules. Contents in the Visible Body Web Suite includes introductory biology content, 100+ lessons about each body system and a 3D interactive anatomy atlas.

Special login Instructions: If you are a first-time user, you must create a Visible Body account while you are on campus or within the UA network. Note: In your contact information, your name (First Name; Last Name) should be the same as those in your University registration. Your email should be your Crimson or Bama email account. If you are already a registered user of Visible Body, click here to login.
Please note that in order to maintain access to your Visible Body account, users must log in while on the University of Alabama network at least every 150 days.

Communicative Disorders

Dissertations & Theses

Databases

Reference Databases

Get in touch

Hours & information

Socialize with us