Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

EMBA Resources: Home

Library materials for MKT 518 - Marketing Management & Decision Making

Ask Me

Mark Siciliano's picture
Mark Siciliano
Contact:
106 Bruno Business Library

205-348-1098

Industry/Market Research

IBISWorld
Contains over 700 detailed industry reports.  Browse the items by scrolling down the page, or enter the name of an industry (or company within an industry) to get a list that meets your criteria.

Each report contains sections including industry outlook, lifecycle, products & markets and competitive landscape.  Many charts can be downloaded directly into excel and entire reports can be downloaded as pdf documents.

Mintel Reports
Mintel reports provide market information on markets for consumer products, travel, lifestyles and leisure. Each report combines data & analysis of the competitive landscape, market-share analysis and consumer profiles.

SimplyAnalytics
Contains information on thousands of demographic, psychographic and behavioral data items for various geographic areas.  Get data on an area as big as a state or as small as a census tract.

Statista
Statista is a statistics portal to the world of data and facts from thousands of sources onto a single platform. Categorized into subject sectors, Statista provides patrons with direct access to relevant quantitative facts on finance, media & marketing, politics, telecommunications, sports & recreation and many more areas of interest. Sources of information include market researchers, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases. Statistical data can be downloaded directly into PowerPoint, Excel, and JPG formats.

eMarketer
Deep coverage of spending, marketing, demographic and social behaviors in the digital world (social media, internet and mobile application, company spending, consumer reception, and financial data).

Company Information

D&B Hoovers (fka OneSource)
Excellent database for researching foreign companies.  Contains information such as company description, historical financials, analyst reports, SWOT analysis and more.  Find research on a particular company or build a list of global companies that meet your research requirements.

Hoovers Online
Search for information on both domestic and international companies.  Contains data about competitors, financial information (up to 10 years worth of historical financial data for public companies), history/background, primary products etc.  Very easy to use to find a single company or generate a list of similar companies.

ReferenceUSA
Find info on private companies.  Great for marketing/sales campaigns, building lists of competitors, potential sales.  ReferenceUSA contains information on small companies that the larger company databases won't touch.

Articles

Academic Articles:

Business Source Ultimate
More than just a full-text searchable database.  Contains industry reports, company reports, SWOT analysis, market research reports and much more.  Type a search term into the box and then choose the type of report you want from the horizontal menu located just above your search results.


News Articles

Factiva
Seaches thousands of global newspapers, including some of the prominent names such as the Wall Street Journal, Financial Times and New York Times.

Financial Times
The Financial Times comprehensive international news website providing the latest in international business, finance, markets, economic, and political news and analysis. Includes FT ePaper, the digital replica of all five global editions of the Financial Times newspaper published in London.

Proquest Digital Microfilm
Historical copies of the Wall Street Journal and American Banker