Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the University Libraries!
The University Libraries support the University’s mission, vision, and goals by anticipating library information, technology, and service requirements; by providing timely access to needed resources; by responding to changing user needs; and by promoting effective use of information by students, faculty, and staff. The University Libraries strive for excellence in service, instruction, and building collections. We seek new and better ways of serving the academic community.
Research and Subject Guides
Librarians create guides to help library users navigate and use specialized resources and tools. These guides include subject guides (like "American Studies"), course guides (like "BSC 652: Community Ecology Reference Guide") and guides for specific types of resources (like "Ebooks @ The University of Alabama"). When you are working on a research project, remember to check these guides out to see if there is one that will help you out!
Find Your Subject Librarian
Search the staff directory by subject area to find the librarian who specializes in your field. This librarian can give you more in-depth research help!
Tutorials and Instructional Videos
Librarians at the University Libraries are constantly creating new videos to share skills and strategies for our library users.
The Branches of University Libraries
Amelia Gayle Gorgas Library
Gorgas Library supports teaching and research needs in humanities, social sciences, and government information as the campus’ main library. Among the research libraries in the state of Alabama, Gorgas Library provides the latest technology-driven services and unparalleled print and online research collections.
Angelo Bruno Business Library
The Angelo Bruno Business Library serves the business information needs of the students and faculty of the Culverhouse College of Business and the Manderson Graduate School of Business.
McLure Education Library
McLure Library is focused on serving the the faculty, students, and staff of the College of Education and the Graduate School of Education at The University of Alabama.
Rodgers Library serves the faculty and students in the College of Engineering, the Capstone College of Nursing, and the science departments within the College of Arts & Sciences. Rodgers is the first departmental library, built with the intent of taking maximum advantage of computer-based information systems for research.
The University of Alabama Libraries Special Collections is committed to acquiring, processing, preserving, and making available primary sources and other rare materials that support the teaching and research missions of The University of Alabama.
The music library supports the UA School of Music and the Department of Theatre and Dance, with a material focus on Western classical music, and additional coverage of musical theatre, jazz, rock, other vernacular genres, as well as non-Western music. The collection contains over 50,000 scores and books, 350 periodical titles, and 20,000 audio and video recordings, with availability in formats such as CDs, LPs, video cassettes, and DVDs.
Sanford Media Center
Create: Use our software to bring your multimedia project to life! We provide support for a variety of digital media software, including the entire Adobe Creative Suite, music production software, and video editing programs.
Learn: The Sanford Media Center’s employees have the skills to answer your questions at every step along the way. Our professional staff can also give one on one and small group instruction sessions covering almost any multimedia topic you can think
of. We also have training resources available for our recording studio, lighting equipment, and SLR cameras. Almost anything you can imagine, we can help you create.
Collaborate: We are here to help, whether you’re on your own or working on a team. The SMC can provide resources for small groups, and our public data storage option makes collaboration a breeze.
Alabama Digital Humanities Center (ADHC)
The Alabama Digital Humanities Center (ADHC) offers faculty, staff, and graduate students resources to explore digital humanities. Organized and supported by a community of academics at the University of Alabama, the ADHC provides technical skills, equipment, and collaborative opportunities to researchers at all levels of expertise and interest in the field.