Introduction
The University of Alabama Libraries provides digital access to a wealth of historical and contemporary newspapers. Begin with the links on this page, and explore the resource guides linked below for more comprehensive coverage.
Topic Focused
- Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Ethnic NewsWatch is a full-text database with newspapers, magazines, and journals of ethnic, minority, and native presses globally. It covers diverse issues in countries like the U.S., Ireland, Israel, Mexico, China, and more, offering alternative viewpoints on current events. Updated monthly.
- Alt-PressWatch This link opens in a new window
Provides news source coverage, viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge the mainstream media.
- GenderWatch This link opens in a new window
GenderWatch is a comprehensive resource for gender and women's studies. It offers full articles on topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.
Newspaper and Magazine Databases
Alabama and the Southeast
- Tuscaloosa News, The This link opens in a new window
Explore Tuscaloosa history through local news, events and people with Tuscaloosa News Collection. Search current and archived issues with full-color newspaper pages, full-text articles and content only published online. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device. Full-text access 2008-present. Digital Image access 2022-present.
- Alabama Virtual Library (AVL) – University of Alabama Student/Employee Access This link opens in a new window
The Alabama Virtual Library provides all students, teachers, and citizens of the State of Alabama with 24/7 online access to premier library and information resources free of charge. AVL provides access to several types of resources such as Dictionary/Encyclopedias, Literature, Current Events, Business, and E-Books.
- America's News This link opens in a new window
This collection of U.S. news from local, regional, and national sources offers print and online newspapers, blogs, journals, newswires, broadcast transcripts, and videos. Included are news sources from various Alabama counties.
National
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
This database offers full-text and full-image articles for newspapers dating back to the 19th century.
- ProQuest Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides full text of many U.S. and international news sources. Includes the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
- African American Newspapers, Series 1 This link opens in a new window
This collection includes the full text of historically significant African American newspapers, published in 36 states, 1827-1998.
Broadcast News
- Vanderbilt Television News Archive This link opens in a new window
The TVNA collection holds individual network evening news broadcasts from the major U.S. national broadcast networks - ABC, CBS, NBC, and CNN - and hours of special news-related programming, including ABC's Nightline since 1989.
More on Newspapers @ UA
- Historical Newspapers and MagazinesPart of the History Resource Guide, this page provides comprehensive coverage of UA's newspaper databases, organized by century.
- Current Newspaper Content @ UAA guide to finding and accessing contemporary news at UA Libraries, including how to find specific newspaper titles and information about citing newspaper content.