Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The Guide Contents box is required and contains a list of the guide's top-level pages. Edit this box to include links to and brief descriptions of each top-level page in your guide. Do not change the title of the box.
Articles & Databases
Articles and Databases to support your research.
Books in our collection that might be useful for your research.
Check out our Citation Libguide for citation assistance.
These are probably the best databases to start looking in to find sources for your research on media effects.
Communication Source merges EBSCO’s Communication & Mass Media Complete database with content from Communication Abstracts, providing comprehensive indexing and full-text coverage of literature covering communication, linguistics, rhetoric and discourse, speech-language pathology, media studies and related fields.
Contains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
SocINDEX with Full Text
SocINDEX with Full Text provides content covering such topics as abortion, criminology and criminal justice, demography, ethnic and racial studies, gender studies, marriage and family, political sociology, religion, rural and urban sociology, social development, social psychology, social structure, social work, socio-cultural anthropology, sociological history, sociological research, sociological theory, substance abuse and other addictions, violence and many others.
Hello! Welcome to the Libguide for JCM 372 - Media Effects. I've gathered here resources to support your research in this class. I also STRONGLY suggest setting up your RefWorks account if you have not, which you can do here: https://www.lib.ua.edu/research-tools/refworks/. If I can be of assistance, please don't hesitate to contact me!