Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Required Texts for Class
Light Alloys: Metallurgy of the Light Metals by Light Alloys: From Traditional Alloys to Nanocrystals, Fifth Edition, covers the materials science, properties, manufacturing processes, and applications of key engineering metals in a single accessible volume. As use of these metals is now more widespread than ever, with routine use in motor vehicles and aircraft, this book includes materials characteristics and applications, heat treatment properties, fabrication, microstructure/property relationships, new applications, and processes. Provides a definitive, single volume overview on the light alloys Presents new material on the processing, characteristics, and applications of these essential metals Covers the latest applications and processes in the auto and aero industries
Publication Date: 2017-03-29
Metallurgy and Design of Alloys with Hierarchical Microstructures by Metallurgy and Design of Alloys with Hierarchical Microstructures covers the fundamentals of processing-microstructure-property relationships and how multiple properties are balanced and optimized in materials with hierarchical microstructures widely used in critical applications. The discussion is based principally on metallic materials used in aircraft structures; however, because they have sufficiently diverse microstructures, the underlying principles can easily be extended to other materials systems. With the increasing microstructural complexity of structural materials, it is important for students, academic researchers and practicing engineers to possess the knowledge of how materials are optimized and how they will behave in service. The book integrates aspects of computational materials science, physical metallurgy, alloy design, process design, and structure-properties relationships, in a manner not done before. It fills a knowledge gap in the interrelationships of multiple microstructural and deformation mechanisms by applying the concepts and tools of designing microstructures for achieving combinations of engineering properties--such as strength, corrosion resistance, durability and damage tolerance in multi-component materials--used for critical structural applications. Discusses the science behind the properties and performance of advanced metallic materials Provides for the efficient design of materials and processes to satisfy targeted performance in materials and structures Enables the selection and development of new alloys for specific applications based upon evaluation of their microstructure as illustrated in this work
Publication Date: 2017-06-14
- Articles & Databases
- Find journal articles, review articles, conference abstracts, dissertations and other scholarly work.
- Find books and e-books available directly from the University of Alabama Libraries and from other participating libraries around the world.
- Find recommended web resources such as organizations, gateways, and other useful online resources.
- Citation Help
- Find resources available to help you manage your references.
- Finding Material Properties
- Find information regarding materials and material properties in engineering literature with this guide.
- Interlibrary Loan
- Find items not available through the UA Libraries catalog with this quick and easy service.
Supplemental Texts for Class
Alloying by Alloying: Understanding the Basics, is a comprehensive guide to the influence of alloy additions on mechanical properties, physical properties, corrosion and chemical behavior, and processing and manufacturing characteristics. The coverage considers alloying, to include any addition of an element or compound that interacts with a base metal to influence properties. Thus, the book addresses the beneficial effects of major alloy additions, inoculants, dopants, grain refiners, and other elements that have been deliberately added to improve performance, as well as the detrimental effects of minor elements or residual (tramp) elements included in charge materials, or that result from improper melting or refining techniques. The content is presented in a concise, user-friendly format. Numerous figures and tables are provided. The coverage has been weighted to provide the most detailed information on the most industrially important materials. Contents include: Principles of alloying; Cast irons; Carbon and alloy steels; High-strength low-alloy steels; Tool steels; Maraging and high-fracture-toughness steels; Austenitic manganese steels; Stainless steels; Superalloys; Refractory metal alloys; Ordered intermetallics (nickel, iron, and titanium aluminides); Aluminum alloys; Titanium alloys; Magnesium alloys; Copper alloys; Nickel alloys; Zinc alloys; Tin alloys; Lead alloys; Cobalt alloys; Noble metal alloys; Special-purpose materials (cemented carbides, cermets, low-expansion alloys, electrical contact alloys, magnetic alloys); Index.
Publication Date: 2001-01-01
Advanced High-Strength Steels by Advanced High-Strength Steels (AHSS) are the fastest growing material in today's automotive industry and are designed to leverage steel as the optimum automotive material. This book provides a comprehensive account of the structure-property relationship in AHSS. It examines the types, microstructures and attributes of AHSS. It also reviews the current and future applications, the benefits, trends, and environmental and sustainability issues. A compelling feature of the book is its extensive use of property charts and microstructures to simplify visualisation of the resulting attributes of AHSS. This book is intended to be a textbook/reference.
Publication Date: 2013-01-01
Hierarchical Materials Informatics by Custom design, manufacture, and deployment of new high performance materials for advanced technologies is critically dependent on the availability of invertible, high fidelity, structure-property-processing (SPP) linkages. Establishing these linkages presents a major challenge because of the need to cover unimaginably large dimensional spaces. Hierarchical Materials Informatics addresses objective, computationally efficient, mining of large ensembles of experimental and modeling datasets to extract this core materials knowledge. Furthermore, it aims to organize and present this high value knowledge in highly accessible forms to end users engaged in product design and design for manufacturing efforts. As such, this emerging field has a pivotal role in realizing the goals outlined in current strategic national initiatives such as the Materials Genome Initiative (MGI) and the Advanced Manufacturing Partnership (AMP). This book presents the foundational elements of this new discipline as it relates to the design, development, and deployment of hierarchical materials critical to advanced technologies.
Publication Date: 2015-08-13
Materials Design Using Computational Intelligence Techniques by Several statistical techniques are used for the design of materials through extraction of knowledge from existing data banks. These approaches are getting more attention with the application of computational intelligence techniques. This book illustrates the alternative but effective methods of designing materials, where models are developed through capturing the inherent correlations among the variables on the basis of available imprecise knowledge in the form of rules or database, as well as through the extraction of knowledge from experimental or industrial database, and using optimization tools.
Publication Date: 2016-10-18