Research Guides: Musical Theatre: Reviews, Commentary, & Websites

Articles and Reviews

RILM Abstracts of Music Literature
R.I.L.M. (Répertoire International de Littérature Musicale) Abstracts provides citations and abstracts of articles in music periodicals, conference proceedings, books, bibliographies, catalogs, dissertations, Festschriften, and iconographies. Thousands of journals in hundreds of languages are indexed.
Music Periodicals Database
This database includes content from more than 300 international music periodicals from over 20 countries.
Music Index
Music Index Online indexes articles and reviews about music, including musical theatre, from over 600 periodicals, with coverage dating back to 1979.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
ProQuest Newspapers
Proquest Newspapers provides coverage from the 1990s to the present of articles in many U.S. and international news sources, including the New York Times, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, Atlanta Journal-Constitution, Times of London, plus other newspapers and news wires.
ProQuest Historical Newspapers
Proquest Historical Newspapers provides coverage of many newspapers going back to the nineteenth century. This is a good place to look for reviews of older shows.
For most titles, the collection includes digital reproductions of every page from every issue--cover to cover--in downloadable PDF files. Current access includes:
- The Atlanta Constitution (1868-1984)
- The Atlanta Daily World (1931-2003)
- The Baltimore Sun (1837-1991)
- The Chicago Defender (1909-1975)
- Chicago Tribune (1849-1993)
- Chinese Newspapers Collection‎ (1832-1953)
- The Christian Science Monitor (1908-2003)
- Hartford Courant‎ (1764-1922)
- Los Angeles Sentinel (1934-2005)
- Los Angeles Times‎ (1881-1993)
- Louisville Courier Journal (1830-1922)
- New York Amsterdam News (1922-1993)
- The New York Times (1851-2013)
- Norfolk Journal and Guide (1916-2003)
- Pittsburgh Courier (1911-2002)
- San Francisco Chronicle‎ (1865-1922)
- The Scotsman (1817-1950)
- St. Louis Post Dispatch (1874-1922)
- The Wall Street Journal (1889-1999)
- The Washington Post (1877-2000)

Musical Theatre

Articles and Reviews

Web Resources

Websites

Get in touch

Hours & information

Socialize with us