It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This is the WordRefernce website set to Portuguese-speaking users, which means that the display is in Portuguese. Provides word-to-word translations to many languages, as well as related words. The Forums are where users can ask questions to native speakers about vocabulary, grammar, or culture. Previous discussions similar to the search query (such as a vocabulary word) are displayed at the bottom of the page. While this site is also useful for grammar, it does not show a conjugation table for verbs.
The University of Alabama has a lot of electronic resources available, both in and about Portuguese language, literature, and culture. This section is a brief overview of what resources are available. If you do not see what you are looking for, please see the other tabs (such as "Articles" or "Databases") and if you still haven't found what you're looking for, please feel free to contact me to schedule a research consultation.
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
Books on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.
UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.
Web-based version of printed Philosophers' Index with abstracts covering scholarly research in the fifteen fields of philosophy, published in journals and books since 1940. The database cites works in English, Spanish, German, French, Italian, Russian, Chinese and Japanese.
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.
Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
HathiTrust catalog records are included in Scout, but not in the Libraries’ Catalog.
An overview of materials available for someone looking for a film, movie, or videorecording in Portuguese.
Films on Demand is a comprehensive collection of high-quality educational videos licensed from established educational media distributors. Videos cover a wide range of academic subjects, and users can create their own unique custom segments. The interface also allows searching by title, by keywords in segments, browsing titles alphabetically, and browsing or searching within the subject areas, capturing citations, and many titles offer closed-captioning and searchable transcripts.
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. NOTE: Kanopy HBO titles require High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP). Please ensure you are using a device and monitor that support HDCP.
The Criterion Collection showcases the definitive versions of seminal titles in the history of motion pictures in streaming format. This film selection details the history of film in the 20th Century, covering the works of Charlie Chaplin, Ingmar Bergman, Jean-Luc Godard, Alfred Hitchcock and Orson Welles, among others.
Swank Motion Pictures provides streaming services for some of the latest box-office hits, documentaries, independent films, international movies and classics. Studios represented by Swank’s services include: Walt Disney Pictures, Warner Brothers, Paramount, MGM, United Artists, New Line Cinema, Touchstone Pictures, DreamWorks Pictures, Lionsgate, Miramax, National Geographic, and more.
For the latest information on system requirements CLICK HERE.
Latin America in Video offers original language documentaries from some of the most important producers and independent filmmakers in Latin America. The films were produced in Latin America, by Latin Americans, about Latin American issues, such as cultural identity, political history, human rights, popular culture, agribusiness, education, religion, and much more.
Digital Language Learning
This section contains links to services that provide language learning courses in a digital environment.
Mango Languages is an interactive online program containing foreign and English language courses. Mango offers a variety of interactive tools to deliver both practical conversational skills and cultural insight that assists learners to speak languages intuitively.
Log in as a guest or create an account for a more customized experience.
Provides interactive, self-paced language learning for dozens of languages, including French, Portuguese, Korean, and many more. This resource includes audio lessons, interactive textbooks, quizzes, intelligent flashcards, phrasebooks and pronunciation analysis. User manuals are available within the resource.
Log in as a guest or create an account for a more customized experience.
DuoLingo is a free smartphone application and website for language learning. It gamifies language learning, meaning that each lesson is taught as a game (points are earned by completing lessons), and results are instantaneous. Users can compete against other users, as well as "chat" with the language bots.
Universal borrowing is a cooperative service offered by several academic libraries in the state, known as the “Alabama Libraries Exchange” or ALLIES. Items that are not currently available in the UA Libraries often may be obtained from other institutions.
The Center for Research Libraries (CRL) is an international consortium of university, college, and independent research libraries. Founded in 1949, CRL supports original research and inspired teaching in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences by preserving and making available to scholars a wealth of rare and uncommon primary source materials from all world regions.
Online guides to citation in MLA, APA, and Chicago, as well as links to other major citation styles.
Adapted from the sixth edition of the Publication Manual of the American Psychological Association, this comprehensive guide offers up-to-date information on formatting electronic references in APA Style. It outlines the key elements to include when referencing electronic sources, with an emphasis on using the digital object identifier (DOI) to locate web-based information reliably. Most important, it provides a wealth of examples for readers to model for everything from online journal articles to supplemental data sets and measurement instruments to books, videos, apps, websites, podcasts, blog posts, and social media. Approximately 70 examples are provided for readers to consider as they learn how to create reliable references for electronic sources.--Publisher description.
Link to the OWL at Purdue APA Citation Guide. Includes step-by-step instructions for various types of citations.
RefWorks is a web-based citation-management program, available to all UA students, faculty, staff, and alumni through a UA site license. It allows users to save citations, organize and share research, and create bibliographies.