Research Guides: Portuguese Language and Culture: Books

Library Catalog

The next few resources are available at the University of Alabama Libraries. The three "Best bets" for books are Scout, the Catalog, and the Electronic Journals.

Scout
Scout simultaneously searches the Libraries' catalog, 90+ databases, and some free Internet resources (includes scholarly articles). Especially useful for interdisciplinary topics. Use the limits on the left side of the results page to refine your search.
Library Catalog
The catalog is a traditional catalog of library holdings: print and electronic books, films, sound recordings, musical scores, government documents, and more (no articles). Most useful for simple author/title searches or highly focused searches. Use the Advanced Search page for complex searching, combining keywords or subject headings
Electronic Journals
Electronic journals available. Search by subject or publication title.

Books at other libraries

WorldCat
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services. WorldCat libraries are dedicated to providing access to their resources on the Web, where most people start their search for information. You can search for popular books, music CDs and videos—all of the physical items you're used to getting from libraries. WorldCat can be used to verify citations, locate an item in another library, or to provide accurate citation information for inter-library loan requests. (Does not include citations to individual articles, stories in periodicals, or book chapters).

ILLiad
ILLiad is an expansive loan program with libraries throughout the country (books & articles)
Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal
National Library of Portugal
Fundação Biblioteca Nacional
National Library of Brazil
base nacional de dados bibliográficos
A union catalogue of over 170 Portuguese libraries, including the Biblioteca Nacional de Portugal.

Electronic Books

As mentioned in "e-resources," these materials are electronic. Check out these databases and websites as a way of finding books, articles, and more.

Google Books
Large collection of electronic or digitized materials.

HathiTrust Digital Library
HathiTrust is a partnership of research institutions committed to digital preservation of the cultural record. The Digital Library provides access to public domain and some in-copyright content from a variety of sources, including Google, the Internet Archive, Microsoft, and in-house partner institution initiatives.

Materials are available to the extent permitted by copyright law.
HathiTrust catalog records are included in Scout, but not in the Libraries’ Catalog.

The Internet Archive
Books and more: "a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form."
The European Library
a vast collection of digitized materials from European libraries; includes books, posters, maps, sound recordings, videos, and more.

Underground and Independent Comics, Comix, and Graphic Novels
This collection documents a large spectrum of underground and independent North American and European comics and graphic novels. It includes original material along with interviews, commentary, theory, and criticism from journals, books, and magazines, including The Comics Journal.
Nineteenth Century Collections Online
NCCO is an ongoing digitization project focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Drawn from libraries worldwide and representing multiple languages, the collection includes books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and more. At present, the database comprises eight discrete subject collections: 1) British Politics and Society; 2) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; 3) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; 4) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; 5) Europe and Africa; 6) Photography; 7) Science, Technology, and Medicine; 8) Women; 9) Religion, Spirituality, Reform & Society; 10) Mapping the World: Maps & Travel Literature; 11) Children’s Literature & Childhood; and 12) Science, Technology, and Medicine, Part II.
eBooks on EBSCOhost
A collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers in various subject areas.

UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.
JSTOR eBooks
Books on the JSTOR platform. JSTOR provides images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, statistics, and scholarship in the Spanish language. Search the archive or pull up a specific article.

UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.

Project Gutenberg - Português
Free electronic books in various languages, including Portuguese.

ACLS Humanities E-Book
Humanities E-Book or HEB (formerly known as History E-Book Project) uses a fully integrated, cross-searchable format to provide access to e-book titles related to most humanities disciplines and area studies.
Early European Books
Early European Books is a multidisciplinary collection of materials published in Europe or in European languages, c. 1455-1700. Drawn from the collections of major European libraries, this project includes founding works of modern sciences; accounts of travel, exploration and warfare; major works of the Italian Renaissance; volumes of Incunabula; works of the church fathers, the Protestant Reformation, and the Counter-Reformation; and many influential works of literature and philosophy.
Oxford Reference
The Oxford Reference Online Premium collection contains reference books covering a wide variety of topics; dictionaries of architecture, plants, geography, literature, mathematics, mythology, and many others. Includes the popular “Oxford Companion” series.
ProQuest Ebook Central
A collection of scholarly ebooks from leading publishers in various subject areas.

UA does not subscribe to all titles for this publisher. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.

Primary Source Databases and Other Resources

Here is a collection of databases of primary sources and other resources for researchers

Nineteenth Century Collections Online
NCCO is an ongoing digitization project focusing on primary source collections of the nineteenth century. Drawn from libraries worldwide and representing multiple languages, the collection includes books, newspapers, periodicals, diaries, letters, manuscripts, photographs, pamphlets, maps, and more. At present, the database comprises eight discrete subject collections: 1) British Politics and Society; 2) European Literature, 1790-1840: The Corvey Collection; 3) Asia and the West: Diplomacy and Cultural Exchange; 4) British Theatre, Music, and Literature: High and Popular Culture; 5) Europe and Africa; 6) Photography; 7) Science, Technology, and Medicine; 8) Women; 9) Religion, Spirituality, Reform & Society; 10) Mapping the World: Maps & Travel Literature; 11) Children’s Literature & Childhood; and 12) Science, Technology, and Medicine, Part II.
Early European Books
Early European Books is a multidisciplinary collection of materials published in Europe or in European languages, c. 1455-1700. Drawn from the collections of major European libraries, this project includes founding works of modern sciences; accounts of travel, exploration and warfare; major works of the Italian Renaissance; volumes of Incunabula; works of the church fathers, the Protestant Reformation, and the Counter-Reformation; and many influential works of literature and philosophy.
Artemis Primary Sources
Gale Primary Sources is a universal research experience that combines Gale's acclaimed digital archives in a single cross-search interface. This powerful platform greatly enhances the research experience for students and researchers by broadening their discovery of primary source documents through the use of multiple search options and research tools. Includes access to Archives Unbound, Associated Press Collections, Brazilian and Portuguese History and Culture, British Library Newspapers, Eighteenth Century Collections Online, Financial Times Historical Archive, Nineteenth Century Collections Online, Nineteenth Century US Newspapers, Nineteenth Century UK Periodicals, Sabin Americana, 17th and 18th Century Burney Newspapers Collection, Slavery and Anti-Slavery: A Transnational Archive, The Economist Historical Archive, The Illustrated London News Historical Archive, and The Times Digital Archive. Included in these collections are monographs, manuscripts, newspapers, maps, and more.

Europeana
Access to various heritage collections.

Library of Congress Call Numbers

Most of the Portuguese Studies books are located with in the PQ9000-9999 call number ranges.

PQ9000-9999: Portuguese literature

PQ9000-9129: History and criticism
- PQ9000-9034: General
- PQ9035-9055: Special periods
- PQ9061-9081: Poetry
- PQ9083-9095: Drama
- PQ9097-9119: Prose
- PQ9121-9128: Folk literature
- PQ9129: Juvenile literature (General)
PQ9131-9188: Collections
- PQ9131-9144: General
  - PQ9137: Translations
- PQ9149-9163: Poetry
- PQ9164-9170: Drama
- PQ9172-9188: Prose
PQ9189: .Individual authors and works to 1500
PQ9191-9255: Individual authors and works, 1500-1700
PQ9261: Individual authors, 1701-1960
PQ9262-9288: Individual authors, 1961-2000
PQ9300-9326: Individual authors, 2001-
PQ9400-9999: Provincial, local, colonial, etc.