Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
UA Libraries Resources
Python for Bioinformatics by In today's data driven biology, programming knowledge is essential in turning ideas into testable hypothesis. Based on the author's extensive experience, Python for Bioinformatics, Second Edition helps biologists get to grips with the basics of software development. Requiring no prior knowledge of programming-related concepts, the book focuses on the easy-to-use, yet powerful, Python computer language. This new edition is updated throughout to Python 3 and is designed not just to help scientists master the basics, but to do more in less time and in a reproducible way. New developments added in this edition include NoSQL databases, the Anaconda Python distribution, graphical libraries like Bokeh, and the use of Github for collaborative development.
Publication Date: 2017-07-10
The Python Workbook by This student-friendly textbook encourages the development of programming skills through active practice by focusing on exercises that support hands-on learning. The Python Workbook provides a compendium of 186 exercises, spanning a variety of academic disciplines and everyday situations. Solutions to selected exercises are also provided, supported by brief annotations that explain the technique used to solve the problem, or highlight a specific point of Python syntax. This enhanced new edition has been thoroughly updated and expanded with additional exercises, along with concise introductions that outline the core concepts needed to solve them. The exercises and solutions require no prior background knowledge, beyond the material covered in a typical introductory Python programming course. Features: uses an accessible writing style and easy-to-follow structure; includes a mixture of classic exercises from the fields of computer science and mathematics, along with exercises that connect to other academic disciplines; presents the solutions to approximately half of the exercises; provides annotations alongside the solutions, which explain the approach taken to solve the problem and relevant aspects of Python syntax; offers a variety of exercises of different lengths and difficulties; contains exercises that encourage the development of programming skills using if statements, loops, basic functions, lists, dictionaries, files, and recursive functions. Undergraduate students enrolled in their first programming course and wishing to enhance their programming abilities will find the exercises and solutions provided in this book to be ideal for their needs.
Publication Date: 2019-07-18
Python Projects by A guide to completing Python projects for those ready to take their skills to the next level Python Projects is the ultimate resource for the Python programmer with basic skills who is ready to move beyond tutorials and start building projects. The preeminent guide to bridge the gap between learning and doing, this book walks readers through the "where" and "how" of real-world Python programming with practical, actionable instruction. With a focus on real-world functionality, Python Projects details the ways that Python can be used to complete daily tasks and bring efficiency to businesses and individuals alike. Python Projects is written specifically for those who know the Python syntax and lay of the land, but may still be intimidated by larger, more complex projects. The book provides a walk-through of the basic set-up for an application and the building and packaging for a library, and explains in detail the functionalities related to the projects. Topics include: *How to maximize the power of the standard library modules *Where to get third party libraries, and the best practices for utilization *Creating, packaging, and reusing libraries within and across projects *Building multi-layered functionality including networks, data, and user interfaces *Setting up development environments and using virtualenv, pip, and more Written by veteran Python trainers, the book is structured for easy navigation and logical progression that makes it ideal for individual, classroom, or corporate training. For Python developers looking to apply their skills to real-world challenges, Python Projects is a goldmine of information and expert insight.
Publication Date: 2014-12-03
Programming with Python by Based on the latest version of the language, this book offers a self-contained, concise and coherent introduction to programming with Python. The book's primary focus is on realistic case study applications of Python. Each practical example is accompanied by a brief explanation of the problem-terminology and concepts, followed by necessary program development in Python using its constructs, and simulated testing. Given the open and participatory nature of development, Python has a variety of incorporated data structures, which has made it difficult to present it in a coherent manner. Further, some advanced concepts (super, yield, generator, decorator, etc.) are not easy to explain. The book specially addresses these challenges; starting with a minimal subset of the core, it offers users a step-by-step guide to achieving proficiency.
Publication Date: 2017-01-19
The Python Bootcamp by Immerse yourself in learning Python and introductory data analytics with this book's project-based approach. Through the structure of a ten-week coding bootcamp course, you'll learn key concepts and gain hands-on experience through weekly projects. Each chapter in this book is presented as a full week of topics, with Monday through Thursday covering specific concepts, leading up to Friday, when you are challenged to create a project using the skills learned throughout the week. Topics include Python basics and essential intermediate concepts such as list comprehension, generators and iterators, understanding algorithmic complexity, and data analysis with pandas. From beginning to end, this book builds up your abilities through exercises and challenges, culminating in your solid understanding of Python. Challenge yourself with the intensity of a coding bootcamp experience or learn at your own pace. With this hands-on learning approach, you will gain the skills you need to jumpstart a new career in programming or further your current one as a software developer. What You Will Learn Understand beginning and more advanced concepts of the Python language Be introduced to data analysis using pandas, the Python Data Analysis library Walk through the process of interviewing and answering technical questions Create real-world applications with the Python language Learn how to use Anaconda, Jupyter Notebooks, and the Python Shell Who This Book Is For Those trying to jumpstart a new career into programming, and those already in the software development industry and would like to learn Python programming.
Publication Date: 2019-11-16
Self-paced Course and Guides
Programming with Python
Curriculum developed by Software carpentry for getting started with programming using Python. Includes many examples and exercises, as well as datasets for Software Carpentry is a volunteer project dedicated to teaching basic computing skills to researchers.
Python Courses offered through EDX.ORG
College Python programming courses from Harvard, MIT, Georgia Institute for Technology, Michigan University and more. Learn everything from python fundamentals and using Python to better understand computation thinking, to advanced subjects and topics.
Beginners Guide to Python
Provided through Python, this guide includes detailed instructions for getting started with Python for programmers and non-programmers. The guide includes links to other books and guides, as well as several browser based tutorials and courses.
JupyterLab enables you to work with documents and activities such as Jupyter notebooks, text editors, terminals, and custom components in a flexible, integrated, and extensible manner.
Spyder is a powerful scientific environment written in Python, for Python, and designed by and for scientists, engineers and data analysts. It features a unique combination of the advanced editing, analysis, debugging, and profiling functionality of a comprehensive development tool with the data exploration, interactive execution, deep inspection, and beautiful visualization capabilities of a scientific package.
Python IDLE and PIP Install
Python's own interpreter and PIP install. You can access Python through IDLE, or the command line or terminal.
Research and Instruction Librarian