Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections - War and Military History: Start Here

Overview

This guide gives a fairly comprehensive list of archival materials held by the Division of Special Collections on military service in major wars.

Use the tabs to navigate to pages about the following conflicts: Civil War, World War Ior World War II.

You'll also find resources about other conflicts -- including the Creek Indian War, the Mexican-American War, the Spanish-American War, and the Korea War -- under the Other tab.

You will find suggestions for using war/military-related collections in the classroom under For Instructors. This includes digital collections.

 

Published Sources

The Division of Special Collections also holds published resources related to these wars. If you're searching in Scout, limit your search by Location to Hoole Special Collections Library and/or Williams Americana Collection, and use one of these subjects

  • For the Civil War: United States -- History -- Civil War, 1861-1865
  • For World War I: World War, 1914-1918
  • For World War II: World War, 1939-1945

Why can't you just type in "civil war"? You will get results related to just about any civil war. Typing in "world war i" would generate results related to both world wars. The wording and inclusion of dates helps differentiate conflicts from each other.

Subject Guide

Kate Matheny's picture
Kate Matheny
Contact:
205-348-0506