Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Special Collections - War and Military History: WWI

World War I (1914-1918)

Cover of sheet music, over there by george m. cohan, featuring five you male soldiers singing by firelight

Our World War I collections include correspondence and artifacts from servicemen as well as medical personnel, some of those front-line volunteers with the Red Cross or other organizations. They reflect what mobilization was like for the not-yet-world leading U.S. military in this late stage of the war.

 

Serving at Home

Louis Giesler Letter (MSS.2148)

  • See staff for more information and to access the collection

Grimes Family Papers (MSS.2135)

  • See staff for more information and to access the collection
  • Lionel Grimes, a Marine in World War I, writes to his family in Cincinnati, Ohio, about daily events including guard duty of prisoners, purchasing war stamps, frequent sand storms, and practicing his shooting accuracy. He includes a poem in one letter.

Sam Groff Letter and Sketch (MSS.2338)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 

Percy C. Miller Letters (MSS.2564)

  • Link goes to finding aid online  
  • Contains news of life in military airfields around the United States from an enlisted private and machine gun instructor, Percy C. Miller, to Miss Louise Ehlert. Miller describes his travels in Florida, Ohio and California, various entertainments, his education in airplane machine gun mechanics, a camp quarantine due to "Spanish Influenza," and various airfield accidents. The bulk of the letters date from 1918 to 1919. 

Elmer Tanner letter (MSS.2031)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 

Walter H. Welker letter (MSS.2033)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 

Letter from Roland to his mother (MSS.2339)

  • Link goes to finding aid online  

Earl Elmer Stewart Letters (MSS.1989)

  • See staff for more information and to access the collection
  • This collection consists of forty-three letters and post cards written by Private Earl Elmer Stewart, serving in the Headquarter Company, 70th Artillery, Coast Artillery Command of the American Expeditionary Forces in France from April 5, 1918, to March 4, 1919. The letters are written to Stewart’s parents, Mr. and Mrs. Joseph Elmer Stewart (Ella) of English, Crawford County, Indiana. The early letters, written while stationed in Fort Hamilton and Fort Wadsworth in New York, describe Stewart’s sight-seeing trips into New York City and his anticipation of embarking for France.

Medical and Aid Workers

George F. Courtney Letter (MSS.1986)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online  

Andrew Dawson papers (MSS.1626)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • The Andrew L. Dawson papers consist of correspondence, a registration certificate, and an admission ticket and program. The letters in this collection were written to Dawson’s family and friends and describe his service experiences during World War I, as well as furnishing information about himself and his family.

Alston Fitts letters and photograph (MSS.0520)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 
  • The collection contains letters from this Tuscaloosa, Alabama, physician to his wife and children during World War I. The letters are addressed from various U.S. cities and military installations and from France. It also includes a photograph of Fitts.

Victor Hugo Friedman papers (MSS.0545)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 
  • The collection contains Friedman's personal and official correspondence, photographs of a camp in the Alps, his lieutenant's commission, his Croce al Merito di Guerra and other military pins and ribbons, and various items issued to him by the military. Incoming correspondence is arranged alphabetically by author's surname, and outgoing correspondence is arranged chronologically.

Jones Family Letters (MSS.1980)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online

Valentine Oldshue papers (MSS.1072)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online
  • This collection contains newspaper articles about covering the peace negotiations in Paris after World War One, Memorial Day ceremonies at American cemeteries in the 1920s, letters, photographs, postcards from France and Albania, press credentials, and Oldshue's dog tags.

Letter from Weir to his Family (MSS.1981)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online

Serving Abroad

Lamar Aldridge papers (MSS.0059)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 
  • The collection consists of letters home written while Aldridge was in training in Georgia and then serving in France during World War I. They address training, the French people, combat, and Aldridge's desire to return home. The collection also includes a roster of his training company, as well as a paper titled "The Story of the 325th."

Jay E. Allen Letters (MSS.2342)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 
  • The collection contains letters written by Private (later Wagoner) Jay E. Allen, between November 1917 and January 1919, to his sister, Lucy (Mrs. John) Davis of Lansing, Michigan, while he was in the Army. He first trained at Camp Custer in Battle Creek, Michigan, and then Camp Merritt in New Jersey before being sent to France and Germany with the Fourth Motor Truck Company, First Division Ammunition Train of the American Expeditionary Forces.

A. T. Baumgarten Letters (MSS.1982)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 

Kenyon Putnam Flagg letters (MSS.2030)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 

Charles S. Goodrich diary and World War I memorabilia (MSS.4097)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 
  • The collection contains the World War I diary, banquet programs and menus, uniform insignia, and miscellaneous medals of Charles S. Goodrich, a veteran of the 167th Infantry, part of the Rainbow Division. The diary begins as more of a memoir but changes to daily entries in June 1918. 

Christian L. Gruen letter (MSS.2337)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 

John E. Harty Jr. letter (MSS.2936)

  • See staff for more information and to access the collection

Hughes family papers (MSS.3748)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 
  • Letters written by brothers Arley and Eli Hughes while serving in the Army during World War I and late nineteenth- and early twentieth-century artifacts of this large, rural Alabama family.

Huston Family papers (MSS.0724)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 
  • This collection contains correspondence, photographs, and other materials created by the Huston family in Selma, Dallas County, Alabama. Most materials center around George Waring Huston, who was killed in World War I.

Alfred H. Johnson letters (MSS.2152)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 

John A. Jungwirth letters (MSS.2029)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 
  • This collection consists of thirty-one letters from John. A. Jungwirth, United States Navy, to his girlfriend, Marie Andres, in Detroit, Michigan, during World War I. He described being at Naval Station Great Lakes, Illinois. He wrote about having to learn and execute wig-wagging (flag signals used by the U. S. Navy), visiting Chicago, and tells of his daily activities. 

V. W. LeMaster letter (MSS.2018)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 

Clyde A. Little Letter (MSS.2097)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 

William March papers (MSS.0266)

  • See staff for more information and to access the collection
  • This collection consists of approximately 1,100 items dating from 1897 to 1980, including correspondence from his service in WWI. In 1917, Campbell volunteered for service with the Marines. He served with the 5th Regiment, 43rd Company, was in several major battles of World War I, and was decorated for bravery (Distinguished Service Cross, Navy Cross, and Croix de Guerre). His war experiences were later reflected in his novel, Company K, acclaimed by many critics as the best novel dealing with World War I.

Thomas A. Moore letter (MSS.2019)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 

Adam M. Mummey letters (MSS.2017)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 

Forrest Neumeyer Letter (MSS.2933)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 

Frank Robinson Letters (MSS.2919)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 

Herbert C. Powell papers (MSS.3544)

  • See staff for more information and to access the collection
  • This collection contains WWI and other military artifacts including uniform collars and buttons, Powell's discharge papers, WWI dog tags, and photographs.

James H. Roper Letter (MSS.2450)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 

Porter B. Rudolf Jr. and Roy P. Rudolf Letters (MSS.1983)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 
  • This collection consists of thirty letters from Sergeant Porter B. Rudolf Jr. and Corporal Roy P. Rudolf to their parents in Chicago, Cook County, Illinois, from October 17, 1918, through June 15, 1919. The letters (the majority of which are from Roy) describe daily life in France, mainly after the cease fire on November 11, 1918. 

Paoli Ashe Smith papers (MSS.1294)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 
  • This collection consists mainly of personal correspondence from Smith to his mother during World War I, letters received from several of his cousins, financial and legal papers, and photographs. The strength of the collection lies in the World War I material, particularly in Paoli Smith's correspondence, which offers a wartime perspective on his own life, the lives of non-combatants, and the effects of war upon the countryside.

Herbert J. Taylor Jr. Letters (MSS.2652)

  • Link goes to finding aid and digitized items online 
  • The collection contains the correspondence between Major Herbert J. Taylor, Jr. (Battery 13, 136th Field Artillery, American Expeditionary Forces) and his wife, Roberta Dorsey Taylor of Columbus, Ohio, from 1917 to 1920. The majority of the letters were written in 1918. There are also a few letters from Taylor to other family members and friends.

Charles Herbert Wells Letters (MSS.2449)

  • Link goes to finding aid online 

Joseph Wilbourn Young letters (MSS.1596)

  • Link goes to finding aid online