Skip to Main Content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Scout is a powerful search tool that can be used to find both print and electronic resources. Scout simultaneously searches the libraries' catalog, databases, electronic collections, streaming media, and much more.
Welcome to the research guide for theatre and dance resources in the library! This guide provides information on using library and web resources to find books, journal articles, films, and digital projects. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text This link opens in a new window
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Play Index (H.W. Wilson) This link opens in a new window
Play Index contains records for more than 34,200 plays—published individually or in collections—dating from 1949 to present, and is updated on a weekly basis to incorporate new content. Available content includes nearly 800 monologues from many distinguished playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.
OnTheBoards.TV This link opens in a new window
OntheBoards.TV delivers full-length, high quality contemporary performance films featuring the works of various artists in dance theater and music from all over the world.
Dance Online: Dance in Video This link opens in a new window
Dance in Video is a video collection for the study of 20th Century concert dance, featuring the most influential performers and companies together with dozens of documentaries, interviews, and dance instruction videos.
Kanopy Films Streaming Service This link opens in a new window
Kanopy is an on-demand streaming video service for educational institutions that works directly with filmmakers and film distribution companies to offer award-winning collections including titles from PBS, BBC, Criterion Collection, Media Education Foundation and more. NOTE: Kanopy HBO titles require High-bandwidth Digital Content Protection (HDCP). Please ensure you are using a device and monitor that support HDCP.