Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Welcome to the research guide for theatre history resources in the library! This guide provides information on using library and web resources to find books, journal articles, films, and digital projects. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to ask for assistance at the Gorgas Library Help Desk (located on the first floor) or to contact me directly by email or phone.
International Bibliography of Theatre & Dance with Full Text
A fully indexed, cross-referenced and annotated database of journal articles, books, book chapters and dissertation abstracts on all aspects of theatre and performance in 126 countries.
Play Index (H.W. Wilson)
Play Index contains records for more than 34,200 plays—published individually or in collections—dating from 1949 to present, and is updated on a weekly basis to incorporate new content. Available content includes nearly 800 monologues from many distinguished playwrights, including Aeschylus, William Shakespeare, Moliere, Anton Checkhov, Tennessee Williams and many more.
American Variety Stage
A multimedia anthology selected from various Library of Congress holdings. This collection illustrates the vibrant and diverse forms of popular entertainment, especially vaudeville, that thrived from 1870-1920. Included are 334 English- and Yiddish-language playscripts, 146 theater playbills and programs, 61 motion pictures, 10 sound recordings and 143 photographs and 29 memorabilia items documenting the life and career of Harry Houdini. Groups of theater posters and additional sound recordings will be added to this anthology in the future.
Black Drama (Second Edition)
Black Drama contains the full text of plays written by more numerous playwrights from North America, English-speaking Africa, the Caribbean, and other African diaspora countries. Many of the works are rare, hard to find, or out of print.
Internet Broadway Database
The official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today. You can access IBDB by clicking on 'Databases' on the Libraries' home page and then clicking on 'I' in the alphabetical listings.
The Shakespeare Collection is an interdisciplinary, multimedia collection of resources supporting literary, textual, historical, and performance studies. Resources include editions and adaptations of Shakespeare’s works published during Shakespeare’s time, prompt books, the Gordon Crosses Theatrical Diaries, criticism, reviews, images, and reference works.