Finding Dissertations and Theses
- ProQuest Dissertations & Theses Global This link opens in a new window
Searchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present.
- Dissertations and Theses at The University of AlabamaA companion database to ProQuest Digital Dissertations, this database consists of current research at the University of Alabama and includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the university. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.
Reference Databases
- Birds of the World This link opens in a new windowComprehensive information for each bird species. Includes content from Birds of North America and Neotropical Birds with Handbook of the Birds of the World Alive and Bird Families of the World. Includes bird observations from eBird and images from the Macaulay Library.
- JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Global Plants is a community-contributed database that features high resolution plant type specimen images and other foundational materials from the collections of hundreds of herbaria around the world.
- ScienceDirect Reference Works This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias and other reference works covering topics across all the sciences from Elsevier's ScienceDirect.
Agriculture Databases
- AGRICOLA This link opens in a new window
AGRICOLA provides citations to agricultural literature, and also includes forestry, wildlife, fisheries, and environmental sciences.
- Agriculture (Gale OneFile) This link opens in a new window
This collection provides access to current and authoritative content that spans the industry -- from practical aspects of farming to cutting edge scientific research in horticulture.
Subject Databases
- American Society of Plant Biologists This link opens in a new window
Publications cover significant research in plant biology, especially in the areas of: cellular biology, molecular biology, genetics, development and evolution, plant physiology, biochemistry, biophysics, and the environmental biology of plants.
- Biological Abstracts This link opens in a new windowCovers journal literature in the life sciences including general biology, cell biology, genetics, zoology, botany, microbiology, evolutionary biology, molecular biology, ecology and more.
- BioOne Complete This link opens in a new windowFull-text of various bioscience research journals, most of which are published by small societies and non-commercial publishers. Browsable by date and searchable by author and keyword in the title, abstract, full-text, or reference fields.
- Biosis Previews This link opens in a new window
BIOSIS™ Previews combines journal content from Biological Abstracts™ with supplemental, non-journal coverage from Biological Abstracts/RRM (Reports, Reviews, Meetings).
- Inter-Research This link opens in a new window
Inter-Research Science Center is a self-sustaining international Science Center that publishes journals and books in the environmental sciences.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
- Zoological Record This link opens in a new window
This database covers animal biology. The scope of coverage, back to 1864, ranges from biodiversity and the environment to taxonomy and veterinary sciences. Includes periodicals as well as many books, reports and meetings.
bioRxiv (the preprint server for biology)
This is an online archive of unpublished preprints in the life sciences. Database is operated by Cold Spring Harbor Laboratory.
Biological Magnetic Resonance Data Bank
Repository of Data from NMR spectroscopy on proteins, peptides, and other biomolecules.
SciFinder Scholar provides access to: Chemical Abstracts (articles, book chapters, conference proceedings, patents, and more; 1907-present); the Registry Database (registry numbers and names of chemical substances; 1957-present); and the CASREACT database (reaction searching; 1985-present). Also included is access to CHEMCATS (commercial sources for purchasing chemicals), CHEMLIST (regulated chemical information), and the SciFinder PatentPak plugin. PatentPak provides access to full text patents and indexed substance information within the patent.
Special login Instructions: If you are a first-time user you must create an account HERE. Note: In your contact information, your name (First Name; Last Name) should be the same as those in your University registration. Your email should be your Crimson or Bama email account. Instructions for SciFinder registration are HERE. If you are already a registered user of SciFinder Web, click here to login.
Core Databases
- Engineering Village This link opens in a new window
Information discovery platform for the engineering community that allows users to search a single or multiple databases simultaneously and with data deduplication. Databases included: Compendex; GEOBASE; Inspec; Knovel; and NTIS.
- Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Google Scholar is a freely available scholarly search engine that allows you to search across many disciplines and sources: peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles – from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect offers access to peer-reviewed full-text journals, books, reference works, handbooks and book series covering topics such as chemistry, mathematics, computer, materials science, medicine and social sciences and humanities.
- Scopus This link opens in a new window
Abstract and citation database of peer-reviewed literature and quality web sources from publishers across the sciences, technology, medicine, social sciences and arts & humanities.
- Springer Journals This link opens in a new window
Springer ejournals covering a wide variety of topics in the sciences.
- Taylor & Francis Online This link opens in a new window
Journals from Taylor & Francis publishers that cover a wide variety of topics including accounting, medicine, politics, science, and gender studies.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science (formerly Web of Knowledge) offers a wide range of interdisciplinary content. Also included: prominent journals and conference proceedings, Arts & Humanities Citation Index (1985-present); Science Citation Index (1955-present); and Social Sciences Citation Index (1900-present).
- Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Includes journals and books in the areas of business, chemistry, computer science, earth science, education, engineering, law, life and medical sciences, mathematics and statistics, physics, and psychology.
Magazines
- National Geographic Magazine Archive (Gale Primary Sources) This link opens in a new window
The National Geographic Virtual Library contains a complete, digitized archive of National Geographic Magazine. The resource includes not just full-text articles but also images and advertisements, all of which are searchable. The Virtual Library also includes additional content, such as National Geographic books, maps and videos.
- Science This link opens in a new window
Science is the world’s leading journal of original scientific research, global news, and commentary. Science Online provides digital access to all Science content from 1997 to the current issue, including prepublication content.
- Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Science publications from Nature Publishing covering a wide range of disciplines, including topics such as nutrition, obesity, biology, chemistry, and genetics.