Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
This Guide contains Chemistry and Chemical & Biological Engineering resources and information. Links below (and within above tabs) provide a starting place for your research project.
Articles & Databases
Find journal articles, review articles, dissertations and other scholarly work.
Books and Handbooks
Find books and handbooks available directly from the University of Alabama Libraries and from other participating libraries around the world.
Conference, Technical Reports, and Preprints
Resources for technical reports, conference abstracts, conference papers, and preprints.
Patents & Standards
Databases for finding patents and industry standards.
How to find prices for laboratory and bulk chemical purchasing.
Resources for locating thermodynamic, physical and chemical data.
Sources of spectra data.
Reactions and Synthesis
Databases and reference volumes for helping you plan your reactions and synthesis procedures.
Locate excellent bibliographies and research guides for finding chemical information.
Citation style guides and management.
Resources for laboratory safety, environmental safety, chemical MSDS, and toxicology information.
Scientific ethic related resources on experimental research and publishing.
Chemistry and Chemical Engineering desktop software and mobile apps.
How to improve your abilities as a scientist, writer and presenter. Also some great career resources.
Stay up-to-date with the latest research.