Notable Scholarly Journals
-
Shakespeare QuarterlySpring 1988 (Vol. 39, no. 1) - present (delayed 1 year)
-
Shakespeare Studies01/01/1975 to present
-
Early Modern English StudiesMultiple Access Options
Shakespeare Specific Resources
-
World Shakespeare Bibliography Online This link opens in a new window
An essential tool for anyone engaged in research on Shakespeare or early modern England. Search international Shakespeare scholarship including articles, books, chapters, dissertations, editions, adaptations, and digital projects.
-
Understanding Shakespeare (JSTOR)The JSTOR Understanding series is a research tool from JSTOR Labs that connects primary texts with journal articles and book chapters on JSTOR that cite those texts. Building on a previous project, Understanding Shakespeare, this beta release of the Understanding series expands the scope of the tool to include ten key works of British literature, the King James Bible, and all Shakespeare plays and sonnets.
-
Cambridge Collections Online: Shakespeare Survey by Volume This link opens in a new windowShakespeare Survey is a series of Shakespeare studies and production, with one volume published each year. Each volume is devoted to a theme, play or group of plays and contains a section of reviews of that year's textual and critical studies.
-
New Oxford ShakespeareThe New Oxford Shakespeare presents an entirely new consideration of all of Shakespeare's works, edited from first principles from the base-texts themselves, and drawing on the latest textual and theatrical scholarship.
-
The Oxford Handbook of Shakespeare and MusicThis compendium reflects the latest international research into the many and various uses of music in relation to Shakespeare’s plays and poems, the contributors’ lines of inquiry extending from the Bard’s own time to the present day. The coverage is global in its scope, and includes studies of Shakespeare-related music in countries as diverse as China, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, India, Italy, Japan, Russia, South Africa, Sweden, and the Soviet Union, as well as the more familiar Anglophone musical and theatrical traditions of the United Kingdom and the United States. The range of genres surveyed by the book’s team of distinguished authors embraces music for theatre, opera, ballet, musicals, the concert hall, and film, in addition to Shakespeare’s ongoing afterlives in folk music, jazz, and popular music. The authors take a range of diverse approaches: some investigate the evidence for performative practices in the Early Modern and later eras, while others offer detailed analyses of representative case studies, situating these firmly in their cultural contexts, or reflecting on the political and sociological ramifications of the music. As a whole, the volume provides a wide-ranging compendium of cutting-edge scholarship engaging with an extraordinarily rich body of music without parallel in the history of the global arts.
General Resources for Literary Research
-
Academic Search Premier This link opens in a new window
Multi-disciplinary database; articles from journals and other publications. coves business, education. history, literature, medicine, philosophy, politics, and technology.
-
Project MUSE This link opens in a new window
Project MUSE provides full-text access scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. The database is a collaboration between Johns Hopkins University and other university presses and not-for-profit publishers. Also included are the UPCC collections in Asian and Pacific Studies, and Poetry, Fiction and Creative Non-Fiction.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Images of the full text of many scholarly titles in a range of subject areas, including literature, biological sciences, economics, finance, and statistics. Search the archive or pull up a specific article. Artstor is now available on the JSTOR platform.
-
MLA International Bibliography with Full Text This link opens in a new window
Consists of bibliographic records pertaining to literature, language, linguistics, and folklore, and includes coverage from 1963 to the present. Provides access to scholarly research in journals and series, and covers relevant monographs, working papers, proceedings, bibliographies, and other formats.
-
Cambridge Companions: Renaissance and Early Modern LiteratureCambridge Companions range from monographs to teaching texts, and from Cambridge Histories offering authoritative overviews of major subjects, to the more accessible approach of our Companions and Introductions. The New Cambridge Shakespeare Edition spearheads our world-class Shakespeare list
We're here to help!
Prefer a different contact method?
Try one of these options instead: