Educating Children with Autism by Committee on Educational Inverventions for Children with Autism; National Research Council StaffAutism is a word most of us are familiar with. But do we really know what it means? Children with autism are challenged by the most essential human behaviors. They have difficulty interacting with other people-often failing to see people as people rather than simply objects in their environment. They cannot easily communicate ideas and feelings, have great trouble imagining what others think or feel, and in some cases spend their lives speechless. They frequently find it hard to make friends or even bond with family members. Their behavior can seem bizarre. Education is the primary form of treatment for this mysterious condition. This means that we place important responsibilities on schools, teachers and children's parents, as well as the other professionals who work with children with autism. With the passage of the Individuals with Disabilities Education Act of 1975, we accepted responsibility for educating children who face special challenges like autism. While we have since amassed a substantial body of research, researchers have not adequately communicated with one another, and their findings have not been integrated into a proven curriculum. Educating Children with Autism outlines an interdisciplinary approach to education for children with autism. The committee explores what makes education effective for the child with autism and identifies specific characteristics of programs that work. Recommendations are offered for choosing educational content and strategies, introducing interaction with other children, and other key areas. This book examines some fundamental issues, including: How children's specific diagnoses should affect educational assessment and planning How we can support the families of children with autism Features of effective instructional and comprehensive programs and strategies How we can better prepare teachers, school staffs, professionals, and parents to educate children with autism What policies at the federal, state, and local levels will best ensure appropriate education, examining strategies and resources needed to address the rights of children with autism to appropriate education. Children with autism present educators with one of their most difficult challenges. Through a comprehensive examination of the scientific knowledge underlying educational practices, programs, and strategies, Educating Children with Autism presents valuable information for parents, administrators, advocates, researchers, and policy makers.
Call Number: LC4718 .E39 2001
Publication Date: 2001-10-11
Educating Students with Autism Spectrum Disorders by Dianne Zager (Editor); Michael L. Wehmeyer (Editor); Richard L. Simpson (Editor)Similar to a handbook in its comprehensive description of the theory and research supporting current practices in the treatment of autism spectrum disorders, this interdisciplinary text shows how the existing knowledge base can be used to explore promising new possibilities related to the field s many unanswered questions. Key features include the following: Comprehensive This is the first book to consider the history and current state of autism as a field in transition, to cover its varied approaches and philosophies, and to describe the interventions used throughout the developmental cycle. Cross Disciplinary Serving students with autism necessitates communication and collaboration among professionals from several disciplines as well as family members. The editors have, therefore, brought together divergent perspectives, theories and philosophies in order to demonstrate that scientific evidence, rather than educational orientation, must determine which practices should be selected for use in particular situations. Research Based Whereas many existing texts advocate a particular type of treatment, this one recognizes that interventions must be selected and evaluated based on the scientific evidence of their effectiveness. Integrated Methodology Chapter authors consider findings from studies that employed single-subject designs, experimental large-scale studies, and qualitative methodology. The inter-relatedness of therapies and disciplines will be highlighted throughout. Expertise The volume editors are all highly visible researchers in autism and developmental disabilities. Likewise, each chapter is directed by a senior, highly accomplished author who is nationally recognized for his/her work in the topic being addressed. This book is appropriate for practicing professionals in education and psychology and for speech/language therapists and other clinicians. It is also suitable as a graduate level text in these fields. "
Call Number: LC4717 .E36 2012
Publication Date: 2011-06-28
The Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders by Carol Turnkington; Ruth AnanAutism is a baffling brain disorder that profoundly affects children's communication and social skills. It is also a spectrum disorder, which means it can occur in a variety of forms and intensity. Most cases of autism appear before a child's third birthday. Recent years have marked a stunning rise in the number of children diagnosed as autistic, with the U.S. Department of Education reporting a 173-percent rise in the number of autistic students served under the Individuals with Disabilities Act between the 1992-93 and 1997-98 school years. Yet much remains unknown about autism, and controversy surrounds everything from defining the disease to diagnosing it to treating it - with theories about its cause ranging from vaccines to faulty genes to maternal personality. The Encyclopedia of Autism Spectrum Disorders provides a much-needed reference guide to this disease. Approximately 500 entries address the different types of autism, causes and treatments, institutions, associations, leading scientists and research, social impact, and much more. The book tackles a complex and daunting subject in clear language suitable for the general reader. Appendixes include major relevant organizations, sources for further reading and research, a glossary, and a bibliography. Entries include: Atypical autism; Asperger's Syndrome; Causes of autism; Developmental disability; Early intervention program; Genes and autism; High-functioning autistic disorders; Individualized education program; Language delay; Mainstreaming; Nonfluent aphasia; Patterning; Safety issues; Tactile defensiveness; and Vitamins and autism.
Handbook of Evidence-Based Practices for Emotional and Behavioral Disorders by Hill M. Walker (Editor); Frank M. Gresham (Editor); James M. Kauffman (Prologue by)This authoritative volume provides state-of-the-art practices for supporting the approximately 20% of today's K-12 students who have emotional and behavioral disorders (EBD) that hinder school success. Leading experts present evidence-based approaches to screening, progress monitoring, intervention, and instruction within a multi-tiered framework. Coverage encompasses everything from early intervention and prevention to applications for high-risk adolescents. Exemplary programs are described for broad populations of EBD students as well as those with particular disorders, including autism spectrum disorders and externalizing behavior problems. The book combines theory and research with practical information on how to select interventions and implement them with integrity.
Scerts Manual by Barry M. Prizant; Amy Miller Wetherby; Emily RubinThis two-volume set provides a comprehensive and multidisciplinary approach to enhancing communication and socioemotional abilities of young children with Autism Spectrum Disorder (ASD) and related disorders. The approach, SCERTS trademark], prioritizes Social Communication (SC), Emotional Regulation (ER), and Transactional Supports (TS). It is a practical model that includes family members as collaborators and can be used with children from the early intervention to the early school years. It targets functional skills and measures progress across a variety of social partners and in a variety of settings. The model is systematic and semi-structured, but it is flexible to respond to the individual differences of children and families.
Call Number: LC4717 .S28 2006 v.1-2
Publication Date: 2005-10-01
Social Skills and Adaptive Behavior in Learners with Autism Spectrum Disorders by Peter F. Gerhardt (Editor); Daniel Crimmins (Editor)Promoting better social skills and behavior is a top priority for anyone who works with learners with autism--but which practices really improve outcomes? Find out in this cutting-edge volume, a reader-friendly synthesis of the latest findings from more than 20 of today's top researchers in the field. Coordinated by the highly respected Organization for Autism Research, this accessible book is an ideal text for future professionals and essential reading for administrators and consultants in educational settings. Readers will explore current evidence, best-practice recommendations, and future research directions for assessing social skills with evidence-based methods and tools conducting interventions that really make a difference promoting friendships and peer acceptance increasing joint attention implementing schoolwide positive behavior support improving outcomes with Pivotal Response Treatment strengthening children's self-help skills providing effective support for families of children with autism using appropriate pharmacologic interventions to manage symptoms associated with ASD Readers will also get first-hand insights from individuals on the autism spectrum and their family members and service providers, who provide balanced perspectives on today's research trends and practices. A cornerstone resource for current and future professionals working with learners of all ages, this book will help readers understand what really advances the social skills and behavior of students with autism--so they can use effective practices to improve the lives of children and families. With contributions from Shahla Ala'i-Rosales Stephen R. Anderson Joanne Gerenser Connie Kasari Kathleen Koenig Suzanne Letso Erik Mayville Daniel Openden Roy Sanders Ilene Schwartz Mary Jane Weiss Thomas L. Zane and more
Call Number: RJ506.A9 S633 2013
Publication Date: 2012-09-14
Young Children with Disabilities in Natural Environments by Mary Jo Noonan; Linda McCormickWith its comprehensive coverage of instruction and intervention practices in natural environments, this is the essential methods textbook for preservice educators and therapists preparing to work with young children who have disabilities. Focusing on children from birth to age 5, this text gives future professionals a wealth of specific, practical knowledge on a range of critical procedures for working with children effectively. Preservice practitioners will benefit from the features that set this book apart from other early intervention texts, including in-depth, practical information on assessing and intervening with children who have severe disabilities and autism clear, explicit guidance on the actual methods professionals should use when working with children an integrated, non-categorical approach that weaves together information across disabilities, developmental domains, and ages guidelines on how to use naturalistic and systematic instruction together a strong focus throughout the book on cultural competence Students will find this text accessible and easy to use: each chapter starts with a bulleted list of focus points; ends with a concise, helpful summary and challenging study questions; and includes realistic examples that illustrate the suggested techniques and strategies. These reader-friendly features also make this book a useful resource for professional development with in-service interventionists and educators, who can use the practical information and ideas to inform their work with young children. Growing from the authorsâe(tm) original work in the successful Early Intervention in Natural Environments: Methods and Procedures, this book will prepare future educators and therapists to work successfully with young children who have disabilities.
Autism : educational and therapeutic approaches / Efrosini KalyvaThere are many different approaches and therapies available for children, young people and adults on the autistic spectrum, and the amount of information available on each one can be daunting for professionals and parents alike. This book offers concise and clear explanations of a variety of proposed interventions and their effectiveness.
International Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders by Johnny L. Matson (Editor); Peter Sturmey (Editor)Since the early 1940s, when first identified as childhood psychosis and autistic psychopathy, autism spectrum disorder (ASD) has continued to burgeon into a major focus of inquiry and interest among researchers, practitioners, and the public alike. With each passing decade, the number of scholarly articles addressing ASD and related disabilities continues to soar. Today, thousands of papers on autism are published annually across various disciplines and journals, making it challenging - if not impossible - to keep pace with, let alone synthesize, all the latest developments. Based on a solid historical foundation of autism theory and research, the International Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders integrates the broad scholarly base of literature with a trenchant analysis of the state of the field in nosology, etiology, assessment, and treatment. Its expert contributors examine recent findings and controversies (e.g., how prevalent autism actually is), along with longstanding topics of interest as well as emerging issues. Coverage includes: A survey of diagnostic criteria and assessment strategies. Genetic, behavioral, biopsychosocial, and cognitive models. Psychiatric disorders in persons with ASD. Theory of mind and facial recognition. Diagnostic instruments for assessing core features and challenging behaviors. Evidence-based psychosocial, pharmacological, and integrative treatments. Interventions specifically for adults with ASD. Training issues for professionals and parents. A review of findings of successful and promising therapies, coupled with guidance on how to distinguish between dubious and effective treatments. The International Handbook of Autism and Pervasive Developmental Disorders is an indispensable resource for researchers, professors, graduate students, and allied practitioners in clinical child and school psychology, child and adolescent psychiatry, education, social work, rehabilitation, pediatric medicine, and developmental psychology.
Call Number: Online
Publication Date: 2011-06-16
ERIC EBSCOhostThis link opens in a new windowERIC Uses the EBSCO search screen interface. ERIC is the world's largest source of information on education and provides indexing and abstracting for articles and documents from 1966 onward.
APA PsycINFOThis link opens in a new windowContains citations and summaries of journal articles, book chapters, books, and technical reports in the field of psychology and psychological aspects of related disciplines including medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business, and law.
Education Collection: Sage VideoThis link opens in a new windowThis collection offers a practical view into a full range of teaching settings and situations, from early years to educational leadership, to support students needing to understand theory or how to apply it in practice.
UA does not subscribe to all titles in this collection. Please contact a librarian to request access to unsubscribed titles.
Education in VideoThis link opens in a new windowEducation in Video is an online collection of streaming video developed specifically for training and developing teachers. The collection provides teaching demonstrations, lectures, documentaries, and primary-source footage of students and teachers in actual classrooms at completion, providing education students a way to observe the intricacies of behavior, tone, facial expression, and body language that define effective teaching styles. The collection also provides course, study, and discussion guides; assessment checklists; and themed playlists, giving education faculty ready-to-use teaching tools.
ProQuest Dissertations & Theses GlobalThis link opens in a new windowSearchable and browsable database of dissertations and theses from around the world, 1743 to present. Offers full text for works added since 1997, along with selected full text for works written before 1997. Contains a significant amount of new international dissertations and theses both in citations and in full text, ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester. Dissertations from 1980 forward and master's theses from 1988 forward include abstracts.
Dissertations and Theses at University of AlabamaThis link opens in a new windowA companion database to ProQuest Dissertations & Theses, this database consists of current research at the University of Alabama and includes citations (and many abstracts) for dissertations and theses from the university. For the majority of titles published after 1996 (and in some cases prior to 1996), a preview of the first 24 pages is provided as well as the full text, which can be downloaded for free by authorized University of Alabama users.
Autism-Open AccessAutism-Open Access, a broad-based Journal was founded on two key tenets: To publish the most exciting researches with respect to the subjects of Autism. Secondly, to provide a rapid turn-around time possible for reviewing and publishing and to disseminate the articles freely for research, teaching and reference purposes.--via OMICS Group
Journal of Autism & Developmental DisordersOriginal research, theoretical papers, critical reviews and brief reports on severe psychopathologies in childhood, not necessarily limited to autism and childhood schizophrenia.
Autism Research & TreatmentProvides information about research related to all aspects of autism and includes case reports and clinical studies.
Research in Autism Spectrum DisordersPublishes high quality empirical articles and reviews that contribute to a better understanding of Autism Spectrum Disorders (ASD) at all levels of description; genetic, neurobiological, cognitive, and behavioral.--via Elsevier